Day 7: To Beaufort, SC - Atlantic Coast 2017 - CycleBlaze

April 22, 2017

Day 7: To Beaufort, SC

This is my third time to pedal the route from midtown to downtown Savannah. This time I went a few blocks west to see 4 squares that I didn't see yesterday. At the last square I stopped for a minute to admire the old buildings and sprawling live oak trees. I took one last historic house photo. This house is open for tours.

On my way through town I crossed the route of the Susan G. Komen Foundation's "Race for a Cure". Downtown I had to detour around the big cordoned-off start finish area. It was fun to see all the interesting pink outfits!

Harper-Fowlkes house in Savannah.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's route started well, on low traffic highways that follow the Savannah river upstream. Northwest out of town on Bay Street past the tall US 17 bridge. Then north on GA 25 past the huge container port, a paper mill, and the little town of Port Wentworth.

Container terminal across the road from the port of Savannah.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Just past the paper mill GA 25 turns east to cross the Savannah river into South Carolina. The bridge is old and very low. The metal drawbridge could accommodate a fishing boat but not a container ship.

Low and decrepit drawbridge across the Savannah river.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Savannah National Wildlife Refuge is on the South Carolina side of the river. It has thousands of acres of lowland forest and tidal marshes. The first few miles in South Carolina were on a narrow 2 lane highway with low traffic.

The first 4 miles in South Carolina are on a low traffic 2 lane highway.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Strangely, the Welcome to South Carolina sign was nearly 2 miles past the bridge.

49th state I have visited during bike tours.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Unfortunately my quiet 2 lane road merges with US 17, a busy divided highway. No big deal because 1/2 mile later I turn right onto SC 170. I assumed it would be quieter. Wrong. SC 170 is also a 4-lane divided highway. A major connector from Savannah to the Hilton Head area. The first few miles had NO shoulder. A usable shoulder appeared after crossing into Beaufort county.

Short section of bike trail parallel to the busy divided highway.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I passed frequent large rural subdivisions. All advertising a pool complex, some advertising a golf course. All advertising proximity to beaches at Hilton Head island. All beautifully set back behind a curtain of trees so all I see is the fancy entrances.

I was expecting country roads but ended up pedaling through a sprawling suburban zone that has a population of 187,000. SC 170 is a busy divided highway all the way to Beaufort.

The subdivisions end 10 miles before Beaufort when entering the swampy Port Royal sound area. Traffic remained heavy.

Chechessee river. The mouth of the river is known as Port Royal Sound.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's second major bridge crosses the Chechessee river. The bridge looks very new. 4 lanes with a wide shoulder.

Crossing the Chechessee river on a new 4-lane bridge.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The mouth of the Chechessee river has a maze of islands. The region is called Port Royal sound. Today's destination, Beaufort, is in Port Royal sound.

Beaufort is a tourist attraction because most of its 19th century buildings are intact. Not really a vacation destination, but a popular day trip for vacationers in Hilton Head, Savannah, or Charleston.

Second oldest city in South Carolina. Charleston is older.
Heart 0 Comment 0

On the edge of Beaufort I escaped the heavy traffic by turning right onto a bike trail that I didn't know about. The bike trail ended up taking me southeast, a couple miles south of where I wanted to go.

Bike trail coming into Beaufort. It actually took me in the wrong direction.
Heart 0 Comment 0

All the motels are on US 21 Business on the north side of town. This is Saturday night, so I had an advance reservation for 2 nights at Econolodge. The first place I called, Quality Inn, was fully booked on Saturday.

The Econolodge is shabby but it will do. $148 for 2 nights. The air conditioner didn't seem to work well. Beaufort is surrounded by rivers and swamps, so the humidity is extremely high.

Today had a high of 86F. It was mostly sunny and the humidity was very high all day. I was miles from the ocean all day but the route is mostly in marshes. Standing water all around, with little or no shade. The southeast wind was a tailwind except for the occasional period going east. The breeze was helpful. Mosquitoes would be much worse if the wind was calm.

I arrived at 4:30 but didn't go into the historic part of town. Tomorrow I have all day to see the town.

Distance: 56.3 mi. (90 km)
Average Speed: 10.3 mph (16.5 km/h)
Climbing: 540 ft. (164 m)

Today's ride: 56 miles (90 km)
Total: 254 miles (409 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0