Day 20: Rainy rest day - Atlantic Coast 2017 - CycleBlaze

May 5, 2017

Day 20: Rainy rest day

Today is a planned rest day in Kitty Hawk, North Carolina. I need a rest after traveling 9 consecutive (but easy) days. There was a little bit of rain overnight, then nonstop heavy rain from 9 AM until 4:30 PM.

I slept late, then had a great breakfast at the motel's breakfast buffet. Baymont Inn is a step above my typical motel. Later I did various chores and took a 2 hour nap.

I looked at my options for tomorrow. Virginia Beach is a long ride but there are no good lodging options before Virginia Beach. Tomorrow is Saturday, the busiest and most expensive night of the week. I will arrive in Virginia Beach late, so I should make a reservation now. I booked a room at Rodeway Inn for $144. In the middle of the beach resort strip but 2 blocks from the ocean.

In the evening I walked out for dinner and walked along the waterfront. The soaking wet sand had vivid colors.

Flowering yucca between my motel and the dunes.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Once again I could see that the dunes are small and don't offer much protection from a hurricane. The small man-made dunes won't stop the island from migrating west.

Dune restoration will be a perpetual and losing process.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This ultra-stout house survived storms that took down neighboring houses.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today is much colder than yesterday. High of 69F with a north wind. The weather will be similar or even cooler for the remainder of the trip.

Kitty Hawk, North Carolina after a big rain storm.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's storm was the first major rain event of the tour. I have been very lucky to avoid rain for so many days. The Atlantic coast is one of the rainiest parts of the U.S.

I had dinner sitting at the bar at Longboard's Bar and Grill 4 blocks away. I ate there last night as well. Both nights I had interesting conversation with locals. They are more concerned about traffic congestion than flooding.

Distance: 0 mi.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0