Wednesday Sep 3: Babaeski to Edirne - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

September 3, 2003

Wednesday Sep 3: Babaeski to Edirne

I was sorry to leave such a friendly town, yet anxious to be back on the road. It was the rolling hills that got to me again, and by the time I arrived in Edirne, I was ripe to dump the bike. Again, the route was not particularly enticing - more a means to an end. Again, not what I would recommend for a sightseeing cycling tour.

The Balta Hotel (35 M TL) was happy to store my bike so I could explore on foot. The city was a former capital, and the market district was fascinating, and packed with people. From the centre one can see Mosques in all directions, all of which are impressive.

I ran into two cyclists from Norway who were heading to Athens, and a couple on a tandem (he - Australia; she - Japan) and when I described my route they said it would be quite enjoyable.

For supper, I remembered an idea our family learned when we were in Portugal in the 80's - eat where the locals eat and you will not be sorry. Well, it was right again - I had rice, beef/eggplant/tomato goulash and beef stew in a little diner, and was stuffed with a great meal. What a place!!

Market streets of Edirne
Heart 1 Comment 0
Beautiful Edirne
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 60 km (37 miles)
Total: 252 km (156 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0