Wednesday Oct 15: Manosque to Roussillon - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

October 15, 2003

Wednesday Oct 15: Manosque to Roussillon

Another amazing day of cruising in the morning through the light mists rising over the Lubéron hills. I must have stopped ten million times to take a picture. Just wait until I can do some uploading.

I was not sure where I was going to stop, but when I got to Apt, I still felt quite strong, so I kept going, with the intention of getting to the wee village of Roussillon, known in the past for its ochre-coloured cliffs.

I found a great chambre d'hôte just before the old village, which was absolutely delightful. The hostess was very accommodating, friendly, and the view out my window looked up to the old village and down into the valley. What more could one ask?

Well, one could ask for yes ANOTHER croque monsieur, so, overlooking the red cliffs, I went and had one, so there. Then I just wandered around the old town on the cliff which overlooked the valleys below, as well as north to Mont Ventoux, where the Tour de France passes very often, if not most years. It is not much more than a big mound compared to the Alps, but still rather impressive.

As the day wore on, heavy black clouds built up in the north, surely oncoming rain; I know that statistically speaking, I am due for a deluge of rain, since I have had hardly any so far.

Today, I could have taken a picture of my shoes and the results would have been artistic
Heart 0 Comment 0
Through the hills of the Luberon
Heart 0 Comment 0
Road through the Luberon...aka "The" Picture
Heart 0 Comment 0
More great scenery
Heart 0 Comment 0
Old Roussillon
Heart 0 Comment 0
Old Roussillon (this is everywhere)
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 51 km (32 miles)
Total: 2,712 km (1,684 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0