Wednesday Oct 1: Bassano del Grappa to Rovereto - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

October 1, 2003

Wednesday Oct 1: Bassano del Grappa to Rovereto

Somewhat cloudy in the morning and rain forecast to come in a day or two and for a day or three, I would like to get through part of the mountains today. Ya right!!!

Starting much later than normal (8:30) I was only 35 km down the road by 10 am and out of food. I stopped at a small grocery store where the few people who worked there were quite excited that a Canadian had stopped in their store on his cycling adventure across Europe. I gave the 'Mama' a Canadian pin and I thought she was going to cry. I was pleased that she was so touched.

Shortly afterwards the climb started. The other day when I climbed the Vrsic Pass it had not seemed all that bad. Well, today I had to climb up to 1125 m, and about 75% of the way up, I kind of fell apart. I had a hard time climbing, so walked part of the way to 'rest' my legs - using different muscle groups actually does feel good, and it stretches some other muscles as well. Then I was physically exhausted at the 1000 m point and maybe mentally exhausted as well. Or do I mean that I was GOING mental? It was not a good feeling. On the other hand, the views were staggering through the Dolomites which are ancient coral reefs pushed up into mountains with towering cliffs all around. Spectacular. Just rather uphill-ish!

When I finally crested the pass, it was around 12:30 pm which was not so bad, and for the most part into town here was down more screaming descents with my pseudo-brakes slowing me down most of the time. I just kept pouring on the water to cool them again.

Because of the combination of the distance and the climbing, when I got to town I was zonked. I went to the tourist office, but the hotel I want does not open until 5 pm so I have to kind of wait around until then. At least I found the i-cafe and of course can go have my second lunch and then my supper. The pasta I had last night was so good, that I think I might have to do that again. When in Rome.....

Depending on how I feel, I will probably go out a bit late tonight to get some evening photos. It is raining on and off, so that might not happen, but I'll see. I might just drop into bed at 5 pm, and not move til the sun rises in the morning (6 am).

Tomorrow's plan is to head towards Lago di Gardo and ride down the eastern side, and if it is running, take the ferry to the western side, so that I may pass through a small village there called Fasano. I have no idea if it is connected to the families back home, but it would be neat to go in case it is.

Until next time...

Climbing the Dolomites in the haze
Heart 0 Comment 0
Red rooves near Rovereto
Heart 0 Comment 0
And now descending
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 86 km (53 miles)
Total: 1,949 km (1,210 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0