Wednesday Nov 19: Samos to Palas de Rei: Still no Tires! - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

November 19, 2003

Wednesday Nov 19: Samos to Palas de Rei: Still no Tires!

I got up and had breakfast expecting to see the two other cyclists, but I heard not a peep from them. I was again extremely lucky today (as with this whole week) that the sky was perfectly clear and the morning perfectly calm, though cool (which I can protect against); so, I could not lose out on such a morning by not getting on the bike and going. And the quality of the day I had, strongly confirmed this.

Today I thought of my Mom's Mom a lot (she died in 1998). I think it's because she quite liked the fall, and today was a perfect fall day. Bright sun. Crisp and cool. Fallen leaves everywhere. Some leaves still on the trees. And that fall smell. I love it, too. The last few days have been these perfect 'fall' days. I think she was riding along with me today. It was a really great day, and like yesterday, I felt strong in climbing all the hills.

I cannot believe that I am now only 70 km from Santiago. That means I could be there tomorrow. We'll see, la. I might slow it down and take two days, or get there sooner to look for a tire - it seems to be holding up ok, but I still have just under 1000 km to go. I may end up having to "pop a wheelie" for the last 500 km of the trip if I don't find one!

Today is market day in the village, so I might go see if I can order a live chicken or two. I saw a few caged up when I first came into town. I wonder if MaGuyver (spelling?) might have been able to fashion a tire out of a real chicken. He was a clever sort. Very impressive, indeed. Sometimes you wonder why some television programmes end.

Tonight I might also return to a restaurant for supper. Lately, to make sure I am strong and healthy, I have been going to the grocery stores for fresh fruit, cheeses (YUM!!!), and other fine light delicacies. I will miss them, but the food is supposed to be so good in Galicia, which is the part of Spain I am in now. Not to mention that in four or five days I will be leaving Spain and entering Portugal. The food will be good there, too, but I will have no further chance to have Spanish goodies. I love food!!

Note the "No Bikes" symbol on this bike shop's window!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Resting for just a minute.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Twilight Zone!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 71 km (44 miles)
Total: 4,149 km (2,577 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0