Tuesday Sep 9: Koprivshtitsa to Sophia: Brent cycles too far for his own good - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

September 9, 2003

Tuesday Sep 9: Koprivshtitsa to Sophia: Brent cycles too far for his own good

I was up nice and early and ready for my breakfast from the landlady who did not show up as she was supposed to - until I was just pulling away. Thankfully, I had enough to eat, and could buy stuff along the way.

I am sure I pulled every muscle in my neck as I rolled (yes, it was downhill to the highway) through the valley - it was so beautiful with the mists rolling through the forested peaks, the stream running down below me, and the road switching back and forth in its fast decent. This really is a place not to be missed whether by car, train, bus or bicycle.

When I got back onto the deserted highway, I made very good time as I headed to Sophia. The plan was to run about 50 km then call it a day. Well, that was the plan, but there were no hotels along the route. The first one I saw was just out of Sophia (at around 90-100 km) so I kept going until I found myself in the centre of this rather large city. Unfortunately it was cloudy all day so it is kind of giving things a sombre mood.

Using the LP book, I looked around for a hotel, the first of which were not suitable since I need somewhere to put a bike. I finally settled on Hotel Enny, which is just off of Maria Luisa, where many shops and sights are to be found. The main thing I needed was calories - I kind of weakly stumbled down the road until I found a restaurant and gobbled a first lunch, and now I am planning to go have another one. The rate of calorie-burning is very high with long-sustained cycling.

The first 60 km were smooth sailing with the wind (luckily) at my back. Then, like yesterday, was a wicked climb, not quite as long as yesterday's but still tough. Then came a medium-sized climb, and then a small one before the road smoothed out right into the city. Again, the wind blew me right in so I had it in a very high gear, and at one point even used the largest of the three chainrings.

Because of the long km day, I will stay here two days and use today to rest and eat, see a bit, then figure out tomorrow when I get up.

Along the road to Sofia
Heart 0 Comment 0
Streets of Sofia
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
A lively discussion in Bulgarian & English.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 113 km (70 miles)
Total: 621 km (386 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0