Tuesday Sep 30: Motta di Livenza to Bassano del Grappa - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

September 30, 2003

Tuesday Sep 30: Motta di Livenza to Bassano del Grappa

I am only estimating the distance at this point as I just got into town and have not yet had time to look over the map. My accommodation is not open until 4 pm so I have some time to kill, but have to drag the bike around. So here I sit with some fine wine (Italian of course!) and type away. Shortly I might just order some food, too.

The start of the day was cloudy, but fairly warm, and the sun was really trying to come out. Because the wind was at my back, the more I stopped, the longer it took to get sunny. But now it is sunny, and this town seems beautiful - stretched across the river - and it was only on a whim that I came this way. I decided that if the weather was good this morning I would come north to the mountains, and if it rained I would head straight across the Po Valley. Being nice, and finding yesterday's ride a bit dull, I came to the mountains, and rode a number of the paths along the green-highlighted areas (beautiful rides) and found NO traffic, beautiful rolling hills, and I would estimate about 50-60 road cyclists, none of whom say hello - kind of like everywhere else in the world, it seems.

If I look to my left right now I see the mountains, where I will head tomorrow, to one of the Dolomites' lakes. Then I will head south and towards Cuneo.

I got some bad news today. It seems that MA has something against farmers and tried to ruin a farmer's tractor. In the process she wrecked her car, hurt her back and hand, and now it seems improbable that she will be coming to Spain. Stay tuned.

As for the rest of the day, explore, explore, explore!

Hills in Motta
Heart 0 Comment 0
Old Town from the New Bridge
Heart 0 Comment 0
Old Town centre
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 80 km (50 miles)
Total: 1,863 km (1,157 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0