Tuesday Sep 2: Corlu to Babaeski - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

September 2, 2003

Tuesday Sep 2: Corlu to Babaeski

This day will be abbreviated - it was almost done when the young guy who works here showed me something and froze the computer - same problem with Windows as at home.

Not a great route for cycling - extreme traffic, coal smoke so thick it was hard to see for a bit, and almost no shoulder. This did improve about 15-20 km out of Çorlu. However, people were as friendly as ever as with the group at the gas (and water) station who were tickled pink to have their pics taken.

Getting stronger I was quite able to make it this far today, though I was a bit wobbly when I arrived at the Balkan Hotel ($20 CDN) just away from the town centre. I got more curious looks than usual and from one shop the patron came out and invited me in to chat - his sister lives in the US somewhere. He also introduced me to a steady flow of curious locals.

I am just about to go for a snack and explore the little town. These i-net costs are going to bankrupt me - $1 CDN per hour (ok, so that was sarcasm).

I am only as far as a day's riding from Bulgarya, so I shall decide tomorrow how far to go, as apparently Edirne is a nice place.

Until next time, all is very well, Turkey is great and I am safe and sound.

Curious onlookers of some crazy cyclist guy
Heart 1 Comment 0
Very friendly people in a very friendly town... Babaeski
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 72 km (45 miles)
Total: 192 km (119 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0