Tuesday Dec 2: Leiria: Rest Day - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

December 2, 2003

Tuesday Dec 2: Leiria: Rest Day

Sooooo nice to sleep in, though that meant staying in bed until 8 am. I just lounged over breakfast and chatted with one of the hosts - a very pleasant family-owned place. I've struck gold here!

I went back to the bicycle shop that was closed yesterday for the holiday, and it was time to hold my breath and hope again. Would they have a 27" tire. Kind of like last time, they were not sure, went to the back... and emerged with one good tire. And it is finer than any others I have had so far. Luck shines down upon yours truly.

In this stunningly perfect blue sky, I have already wandered up to the Castilo for incredible views of the town and surrounding hills. As I often feel is the case, though, the best views were while climbing up to the summit, with the Castilo brooding over the hilltop high overhead. Impressive indeed. Those winding streets are amazing here, too, often with glimpses of the Castilo, sometimes with overhead passages tiled in blue and white, doors mere inches from the roadway, and many of the stores' wares either out along the street or hanging down the outdoor walls.

It seems this town can be rather busy with tourists in warmer times of the year, but with so much rain lately, many people cancelled their plans. This according to my hotel hostess. Thus, there are not many people around and I almost have the place to myself. Certainly a benefit to travelling at such a strange time of the year.

For anyone travelling in the area, this really is worth a stop, not only for the town, but for its proximity to other places as well. Not to mention the pine forests between here and the coast, planted some years ago to protect the area from ocean winds.

So, tomorrow its towards Obidos, then Peniche, and on to Sintra from which I will base myself for a jaunt 'around the block' to Cabo.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Main Square, Leiria
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0