Tuesday Aug 26: I can't believe I leave tomorrow! - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

August 26, 2003

Tuesday Aug 26: I can't believe I leave tomorrow!

Well, here it has been since about last November that I have been planning for this trip. First I was going to leave March 3, then April 3, then May, then June, and then, thinking that Europe would be too hot, too busy and too expensive, I decided to push it back until later in the summer. So I settled on August 27, 2003.

That day is tomorrow. Like a kid at Christmas, I have made a list (yes, the one from this website), I have checked it twice, thrice, and many more times after that. I added a few things that were omitted - blister packs, a Ludlum book (Parcifal Mosaic) and an Agatha Christie (something I read on every trip I take), as well as a set of extra toe straps for when mine snap.

Last week I found that I had possibly waited too long to send my packages in the mail to myself. They will take 4-6 weeks to get there, and will be held for 30 days. So, I expedited one, and just yesterday sent another to make sure it is there when I arrive. The final one will be sent by family later in September so it is not on its way back before I even get there.

Then came the packing of all this stuff. I was lucky enough to find a box that fit my trailer perfectly - I removed the wheel and fender, strapped it to the trailer along with a few things and strapped it together. The bike is in its box with everything else. My one small carry-on will also carry my luggage rack/buggy with which I will carry my bike box in the airports. No need to break my back for nothing.

The next hurdle will be the airport security. Despite us living in probably the safest place in the entire world, the airport security in Timmins is what I would politely call draconian. That being said, I am certainly leaving a LOT of time in case they wish to have the bike removed from the box. That would be non-fun and would take up about two hours of otherwise pleasant airport-browsing.

The next time I add to this site, I will be somewhere in Turkey or Bulgaria. The hotel is booked in Istanbul for a few days at least to see the city and its wonders, before taking a ferry through the city's north and embarking on the 5,000 km of pedalling before I reach the endpoint of the trip.

Please think of me!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0