Thursday Sep 4: Edirne to Harmanli, Bulgaria - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

September 4, 2003

Thursday Sep 4: Edirne to Harmanli, Bulgaria

I am in Harmanli, Bulgaria, today, and cycled 68 km from Edirne, Turkey. The countries are markedly different in every aspect I have seen so far. Even the terrain has shifted from the flat plains of Turkish Thrace full of sunflowers, to rolling hills of vineyards with the mountains off to the distance to the west - they are to come, or should I say, I will be getting to them before too long. I may have to sample the resulting fine wine from said vineyards.

So far, this country was very obviously under the control of the Soviet Union not so long ago. There are great big hulking (and empty) factory buildings, obviously of that style, and many buildings that have the appeal of SFU in Burnaby (used as the CIA or FBI building in the X-Files).

The young fellow in the Bulgaria Hotel (Irin) and his friends have been very friendly and helpful. They showed me to a restaurant where I had a hamburger and fries for $1 CDN. And the internet for less than that for an hour.

The road quality along #8 is fine, but there is no margin, and there are enough trucks that when they meet me at the same time, I pull off the road. I may shift to smaller roads as traffic increases near Sophia, the capital.

The people from my hotel in Harmanli.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My first Cyrillic-labelled wine!
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 68 km (42 miles)
Total: 320 km (199 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0