Thursday Sep 25: Ljubljana to Bled: Only three months til Christmas - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

September 25, 2003

Thursday Sep 25: Ljubljana to Bled: Only three months til Christmas

Yes, it is as beautiful or moreso than the pictures show in Bled.

Since today I was back on the bike, it cleared overnight after raining most of the day yesterday. The fog rolled in as I started around 7 am, but about 10 km north of the city and out of the 'swamp' out came the sun and there were the Alps right in front of me. The temperature was a lot cooler than I have been used to (about 8 C) so I had a coat on, but as it warmed up, it came off.

The traffic out of the city was INTENSE. Endless cars until I got to about Kranj when they dwindled quite a lot. I then found that I could not ride on the road and had to ride a while on a gravel and muck track then criss-cross the highway for most of the way to Bled. But it was basically a country lane through a canopy of leaves. There was one nice long descent, but of course... yes, you guessed it, I do not have to say, but it was not long.

After I found my room in an alpine-style cottage on a hill, with a covered outdoor sitting room that looks through the trees to the Alps, I walked down to Lake Bled and for the next few hours my mouth hung open in wonder as I went up to the castle for views down the valley, into the high peaks and down onto the church on the island; walked around the lake on one of the nicest walks ever, again with views of the island church set against the castle on the cliff, the Alps and the forest-covered hills; and just around the town as I prepare to go eat one of these renowned cream cakes - I was told yesterday that I certainly must have one. So I will.

For tomorrow, I have pretty well decided that I will take a run at Vršič Pass, supposedly wickedly high and hard, but I might break it into two days, staying at a mountain hut/hotel on the way up, then somewhere just after the pass on the way down so I have all the time in the world to ride, walk, crawl or weep my way to the top. Wish me luck!

'Six Feet Under' tree?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Believe it or not, this idyllic spot really does exist. And you can cycle the few km around the lake and stop for a swim, and a beer, and a few pictures, and to watch the fish, and to dream about never leaving, and....
Heart 0 Comment 0
....
Heart 0 Comment 0
Come to Bled (and Slovenia in general) before it's overrun with tourists
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 52 km (32 miles)
Total: 1,571 km (976 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0