Thursday Sep 18: Vodice to Zadar: Roman Walls, seaside and fine weather - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

September 18, 2003

Thursday Sep 18: Vodice to Zadar: Roman Walls, seaside and fine weather

I guess I was spoiled the other night when I could upload those pictures. Here again today they do not have the facilities to do it. Maybe tomorrow.

This time 6 am did not seem so early after going to bed at 8 last night. Again though, on the road from yesterday, I was a bit tired, so I just took it easy. More spectacular rolling hills, seaside roads and mountains in the background. The area makes a lot of wine and brandy, which would explain what they do with the grapes from the endless vineyards. Plus, everyone seems to grow tomatoes and grapes around their houses - kind of on a nice trellis thing. Rather nice, and possibly not possible in IF or CO!

As I approached Zadar my destination was a listed guesthouse in the centre, apparently the only one in the old city. Maybe because I arrived from the day's cycling at 9:30 am, but they had a room and happily stored my bike inside, though as I have mentioned, I think there is almost no theft in Hrvatska.

Zadar is the ancient Roman city of Zara, and was involved with the Romans, Byzantines, Venetians, Austro-Hungarians and the Italians. In my little bit of wandering so far, I can see a number of these influences. But it is very hot out, so I think I will go find a canopied restaurant and have lunch very shortly.

I looked into the ferry situation - people beware: there are very few ferries from Zadar to Rijeka, so call ahead to make the plans or you will not have a ferry going when you want. For me, it would have been nice, but I shall cycle.

And finally, as with yesterday, why is it that when you are struggling to keep a bike upright, keep out of traffic's way, keep hydrated and watch the scenery, when what happens is a Billy Joel song or a Stevie Wonder song pops into your head, and plays for hours on end? How does one break that record and throw it out forever?

After this I added "learning to sail" to my list of things to do
Heart 0 Comment 0
Central Zadar
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 62 km (39 miles)
Total: 1,160 km (720 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0