Thursday Oct 9: Alba to Cuneo: Still a trial - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

October 9, 2003

Thursday Oct 9: Alba to Cuneo: Still a trial

Though I made it to Cuneo today, and it appears that the scenery was very pleasant, with the craggy mountains moving ever-closer, I realized right after I started that whatever was bothering me the other day, is still bothering me.

The morning was great. A pink sky as I rolled out of the city with only a wrong turn or two, but was soon on the right path. Again, the hills hurt and the breeze was bothering me.

When I go to Cuneo all I wanted to do was go lie down, but I figured I would go get my mail first at the main branch of the post office. Well, surprise surprise, they looked around and said, no that nothing was there for me. They took a second look and said I should have some document. I looked behind the teller about 5 m and said that the package should look something like 'that' gray one. They took a look at that particular package and said, 'Oh, here it is.' I asked if that was the Poste Restante (general delivery) section and he said it was. Let me just say that our postal workers at home in IF and CO are so helpful we are spoiled by what they do for us. Here they must go to a special school. Oh well, at least I got my LP France and map, as well as a few more pins to give out.

I got to my hotel and just rested for a while, but I had to get out, as this is supposed to be a holiday not a sleep break. But I am not sure how long I will be able to meander around here. Maybe a few photos, a bite to eat then back to bed. I want to tackle those mountains tomorrow and head towards Digne-les-Bains.

Pulling out early morning feeling a lot better
Heart 0 Comment 0
Just a cool street in Cuneo
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 65 km (40 miles)
Total: 2,382 km (1,479 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0