Thursday Oct 30: Estella to Logrono: The air is moving contra to my direction again... - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

October 30, 2003

Thursday Oct 30: Estella to Logrono: The air is moving contra to my direction again...

I have to admit that because of the clouds, it was a bit sombre out as I was leaving town. I decided that I would follow the pedestrian path (actually preferred by Europeans, which is so different from at home) until it was light enough for the trucks to thunder by me and actually see me.

There were actually a few clear spots in the skies to the south-west as I started out. The sun was trying to squeeze out the clouds, but it really was a battle. At least the darkest of the clouds were to the north and south of me. And I know why - the typhoon that was coming straight at me was blowing the clouds along that route to Iraq.

Thankfully, I did not have far to come today, and lot of it was downhill, so that kind of made up for things a bit. I was coming through a lot of the vineyards of Navarra, and as I went by each wine place (factory? plant?) I could smell the sweet aroma of fermenting wine. Or maybe rotting grapes that had fallen on the floor. Either way, I was convinced to try some wine at lunch time today.

Just as I arrived into the outskirts of Logroño was the sign saying that I was in La Rioja, ie the area of the best wine in the world, in my humble opinion. Apparently this appelation only applies to the wine grown on one side of the Ebro River. I'll make sure that is what I find today, and promptly reply... tomorrow.

When I got to the city the sun was just coming out, but now that I am out and about, it has started to rain, and is quite breezy. I think on the weather forecast this morning it said this area was going to be wet today. But that is fine, the Old City is quite compact so I can explore it and probably be sheltered from the rain most of the time - many of the streets are so tightly packed that the buildings seem to overhang the street. A built-in umbrella.

Over the next three days I only have 113 km to make it to Burgos before heading to Madrid. I must be getting lazy as I go!!! Thus, they should be rather easy days, weather-permitting. If I feel really energetic, I might get to Burgos on Saturday, head to Madrid on Sunday, and spend Monday going to see the castle in Segovia, the one that Mr Disney saw and based his castle at Disneyland? (-world?). Time will tell.

I picked a place at random for lunch where I had amazing pasta with prawns and mushrooms in a garlic sauce, followed by trucha con jamon, then a nice piece of a type of cream cake. With, of course vino tinto. Am I here for the food alone, I wonder?!

Arriving in Logroño
Heart 0 Comment 0
The servers at the tapas bar
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 50 km (31 miles)
Total: 3,579 km (2,223 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0