Thursday Oct 2: Rovereto to Fasano - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

October 2, 2003

Thursday Oct 2: Rovereto to Fasano

I think I do not even have to explain why I stayed in this town today, but for those people not from Cochrane or Iroquois Falls, I will. There is a family in our area with the family name Fasano, so I felt I must stop here. I can just hear Rocky saying, 'For God's Sake!'

Today I had the great joy of a cycling path through a canopy of olive trees to Lago di Garda. Not only that, but at one point I was walking through a small valley and along a road built by the Romans. Very cool. Of course it was almost like a ladder descending to the Lago, but I struggled and made it. I could almost feel the millenia of people and soldiers coming through this valley. Once I am home I will post the picture of the sign describing the route here.

Along the Lago was amazing again (like every other day!). The road hugged the shoreline and there was a relatively strong wind at my back, making for a very quick ride today. Before I knew it, I was past many more vineyards, castles and churches and at the ferry dock. The 30 minute ride brought me just north of here, and in about 10-15 minutes, here I was in Fasano.

My hotel, the Saturnia, is right across the road from the Lago, with great views across the lake. It looks so Mediterranean here, but with an Italian flair of course.

I think I was very lucky again today. It started out kind of cloudy and I thought it might rain, but then it got brighter out all the time. The sun never really got out, but at least it is semi-bright and dry. Makes for a much more enjoyable visit.

Now, I must go, as I think I shall order some pasta and maybe even a wee drop of wine.

On the Roman Road to Lago di Garda
Heart 0 Comment 0
My friendly hosts at the hotel in Fasano
Heart 0 Comment 0
Meandering Fasano
Heart 0 Comment 0
Seaside at Fasano
Heart 0 Comment 0
Flowers of Fasano
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 55 km (34 miles)
Total: 2,004 km (1,244 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0