Thursday Nov 13: Burgos to Osorno: On the road again... - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

November 13, 2003

Thursday Nov 13: Burgos to Osorno: On the road again...

I got up tentatively again, and seemed to feel not too bad - maybe because I slept ten million hours!

Surprisingly, this not being the sun-drenched paradise of the country, the sky was clear when I left Burgos. I could even see the moon through the haze. Beautiful, really, as was the Catedral as I slowly left it in my dust.

I went slow so as not to compromise my stomach and it seemed to work. I had no idea how far I would go, which was also a relief. No pressure to get to some place - this is not exactly high tourist season so I think from now on I might be the only visitor in each hotel. What an honour.

Surprisingly, I was able to make it just over 60 km, and pulled into a tiny village of 1800 people (thus the lack of internet updating from the town) but found a rather nice hotel (aka "with a great big tub and lots of hot H20").

Being very clever, when I went for lunch I first had a Yoglup (like Yop) which is a no-no when your system is a bit down. Then I mistakenly ordered fried eggs, greasy sausage and chips - no-no's number two, three and four. Before I even finished my stomach was making strange sounds and starting to fight back. So, yes, the rest of my day was back in my room laying down. As long as I did not move I was fine - if I could only figure out some way not to move yet ride the bike I would be all set! At least there was not a whole lot to see or do here. Before lunch I had walked the town, and it seems kind of sad and forgotten, with most of the stores, bars and restaurants closed down. I guess the main road bypassed them and killed the town. Maybe they need a Tim Hortons. I know I do. Maybe that's why I threw that one in! A clever and quick one-liner.

Little unknown Osorno
Heart 0 Comment 0
Quiet little village
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 62 km (39 miles)
Total: 3,757 km (2,333 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0