Thursday Dec 4: Obidos to Peniche (and around the cape) - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

December 4, 2003

Thursday Dec 4: Obidos to Peniche (and around the cape)

It was kind of nice not being 'tied' to a breakfast with the room. I was able to be on my way just prior to the rising of the sun. And what a sunrise it was. There was the sky all orangey-rose in the east, and there was the blue ocean sparkling to the northwest. And as I got closer, way out to sea I could see where someone had bulldozed all the clouds into piles... They simply got washed out to sea after that.

Part of the approach onto this promontory jutting out into the Atlantic was a little uninspiring. However, once I got to the fortress walls of the old city I was in heaven. Palm trees, old walls, cobblestones, and a well-kept town. Enchanting really.

The room was not quite ready (it was only 8:45 am) so I hopped on the bike and roamed the quaint little back streets. I jumped into a little cafe for a few snacks, and lo and behold, the owner started to speak english to me. She was raised in Winnipeg, before returning to Portugal when in her teens. Coincidence or what? She gave me a free sample of the house specialty pastry.

The owner of the cafe mentioned the ring road that goes right around the cape around Peniche, so that's where I went. What spectacular views. The 3 m waves were crashing on the cliffs in huge clouds of white spray. I must have taken about 40 pictures!

Excited to see them, when I got back to town I came to the internet access store where they burned my latest CD (about 500 pictures this time) so I could see today's pics. If I do not run out of time, I'll load on a few of them today before I go. But I don't want to be here too long - there are fish packing plants and boats all over the place, so I would think I might be able to find some fresh fish for lunch. Anyone want any?

Was Mr Quijote here, too??
Heart 0 Comment 0
Walls of Peniche
Heart 0 Comment 0
Near Peniche
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 34 km (21 miles)
Total: 4,845 km (3,009 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0