Sunday Sep 14: Dubrovnik to Neum, Bosna i Hercegovina: Breakfast really does make a difference - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

September 14, 2003

Sunday Sep 14: Dubrovnik to Neum, Bosna i Hercegovina: Breakfast really does make a difference

Of course, the day DID start out with that climb: night did not diminish the steepness, but with fresh legs it actually was not that bad.

Lately with this wind at my back and with much stronger legs and other bits, I really can motor along for much longer than those first few days. The views continue to amaze me - it really would be an amazing trip by motorcycle, too!

I met a German couple who are in their sixties who have had cycling trips for 20 years now. They suggested the Hotel Adria in Neum, BH. The place is brand new, and included dinner and breakfast. Having forgotten about it, when I saw that I had a TV I suddenly remembered the Italian F1 race, so I was able to watch it, though the commentary was in German. For dinner I ordered the golden bass, which came whole - a first for this cyclist - and it was AWESOME!!

So, it really ended up being a good stay.

Neum is possibly the only seaside resort for BH so they seem to be trying to build it up as such, but still seem to be waiting for tourists who are starting to come.

Swim, anyone?
Heart 0 Comment 0
A couple of fellow cyclists, this couple from Germany
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hosts and cooks at my hotel in Neum, BH
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 77 km (48 miles)
Total: 853 km (530 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0