Sunday Oct 26: Pau to St. Palais: Rain, rain, rain, rain, rain......... - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

October 26, 2003

Sunday Oct 26: Pau to St. Palais: Rain, rain, rain, rain, rain.........

From the start, there was drizzle and the rear tire was flat again. I am getting very good and fast at repairing flats let me tell you! Anyone need a flat repaired for the tenth time?

Due to the clouds and mist, I could not see the mountains which is a real shame. I think the climbing towards them would have been quite impressive. Despite the rain, I had a rather "climby" day so I stayed toasty warm. But let's just say that when I got to St Palais, I was a bit damp. Soaked to the bone. I also decided on the spot that I would get a set of foot covers since it really is no fun riding with soaked feet. I have a set at home, but alas, they are at home in Canada. There is no such thing as long-distance foot protection. When I see a shop, I will get some.

It took pretty well the rest of the day to get me warmed up and get my stuff dry. There was not much more to do in this small village, especially on a Sunday, so I read a lot. There was a bar open so I had a stick of bread with a piece of bacon on it - they called it a sandwich and charged a lot, but at least it was food.

Because of such warm dry weather today I decided to treat myself to a nice dinner, then crashed early.

Entrance to St Palais
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 80 km (50 miles)
Total: 3,378 km (2,098 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0