Saturday Oct 4: Costogno to Certosa di Pavia - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

October 4, 2003

Saturday Oct 4: Costogno to Certosa di Pavia

I started out in a dome. The fog was thick enough that I could not see through it further than about 15 m. So cars came out of the fog from both directions, and I had no idea if I was still in Italia or New Zealand. Apparently this is not uncommon in the Po River Valley.

This being a short and calm day, before no time at all I was in my hotel and back out again to the Monasteria Certosa (I cannot wait to get photos of this place online). It was incredible, and with hardly any tourists around, I almost had the place to myself.

The village of Certosa was very small, so I had no access to internet, and almost no access to food. But I did find some nice canelloni with a stuffing that was to die for. With red wine, of course.

When I got back to the hotel, an idea popped into my head. Here I was a 30-minute bus ride to Milano, so maybe I would go. The connections were good, I needed a rest day, so I decided I'd do it on Sunday. Then the clouds rolled in, the gale-force wind came in (I'd say at least 80 km/h winds) and then came the lightning, thunder and pouring rain. Just minutes after I had decided to stay off the bike for a day. Luck or what???

Italian mists
Heart 0 Comment 0
The monastery
Heart 0 Comment 0
The monastery at Certosa
Heart 0 Comment 0
Patron Saint of bowling alleys???
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 55 km (34 miles)
Total: 2,177 km (1,352 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0