Monday Nov 3: Burgos to Madrid: Bus ride by Bulls - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

November 3, 2003

Monday Nov 3: Burgos to Madrid: Bus ride by Bulls

Once again, ohhhh, so sinful, but a nice break from pedalling. Letting someone else do the driving, and oh-so-effortless and fast compared to lately! The ride to Madrid was actually quite nice, with a great sunrise over the hills, snow dusted on the hilltops and mountain tops, and Madrid, oh Madrid, so beautiful in the sun. And so many people.

Having been here in 2001, it made it a lot easier to find my way around. The Metro is very efficient here, so in no time I was to my hostel (unbeknownst to me, the area is rather yucky, though there were many finely dressed people around).

I found my way to another Canadian cyclist who was kind of riding a parallel course from Istanbul to here just ahead of me. We compared routes which was interesting and he told me what to expect from Burgos westward - sounds quite good. We wandered around the centre and spent a good amount of time in a great bike shop where I picked up a few things I needed, including protective belts to fit between my tubes and tires - maybe no more flats!!! Let's hope.

Due to my location, I made my way back to my room before it got too late; mind you, Madrid is a city that keeps going until well into the night, actually, later than that and into the morning again, so there are always people around, so not even a problem around this place I would not think.

Plaza Mayor, Madrid
Heart 0 Comment 0
Gala Night in Madrid
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0