Friday Sep 19: Zadar to Karlobag: Why did the road just end? - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

September 19, 2003

Friday Sep 19: Zadar to Karlobag: Why did the road just end?

Was it ever nice to sleep in. Where my bike was locked away, it was not opened until almost 8 am, so I just lay in bed (awake of course) and read Ludlum. Glorious.

All started well again, until I was at about the 30 km point, when the road abruptly ended, and the only turn headed off to a dead-end. I had to backtrack 6 km after climbing a wicked hill, to try to re-find my route. As it turns out, when they put in the motorway, they took out the 'regular' bridge. But, the control booth said they would look the other way and that I was responsible for any problems including police. Anyway, I zipped across and was off again in no time, though the other side was none too pleased. Oh well.

Then I followed along a beautiful channel, but it had no towns with food and accommodation. On the bike I NEED food, so I had to keep going and going. I met up with a Russian cycle tourist who said that for 10 km there was nothing. Good Lord.

Anyway, 96 km later I was never so happy to see a town. And what a pretty little place. Again, right on the sea, mountains right behind, and just wow.

Lunch was shortly thereafter at a little cafe just a few metres from the seaside. Grilled hake (whole again) in garlic and basil. The fish is so good here, I cannot help but have it everyday. I love travelling by bike: it means I can eat a lot of great food.

Now that it has cooled off, I think I will get some evening pics along the water and maybe even dip my feet into the Adriatic. This connection keeps failing so I must go.

One of today's fans
Heart 0 Comment 0
Catching me some supper
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 96 km (60 miles)
Total: 1,256 km (780 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0