Friday Sep 12: Bar to Kotor - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

September 12, 2003

Friday Sep 12: Bar to Kotor

I would have to say that today's route was one of the most spectacular I have ever ridden. Though the morning started out with pouring rain and a very awesome thunder and lightning storm (I know, I know, my bike is a lightning rod), the views up and down the coast of the Adriatic were stunning. To make things better, the rain stopped and the clouds cleared to make for one incredible ride today.

The LP as well as the guy I met in Kop the other day strongly suggest visiting Kotor, a small village along the biggest Fjord in southern Europe. There is a walled old town, in which I have my pension, and the views all around are amazing.

I had a choice of taking the fast road through the tunnel or following the water an extra 21 km. I took the latter, and let's just say that when I upload the pics, it will be amazing. There was a small single lane road that literally hugged the shoreline all the way - I could not believe my luck in finding it. On the other side of the road, at its edge, in fact, are all the old sandstone buildings. Breathtaking.

Especially for the cyclists and motorcyclists out there, this is a route NOT to be missed. Lp is right - this place is a well-kept secret.

PS At the time of the latest book on Eastern Europe by LP, they said there were no ATM's in Montenegro. Well, there are now, and plenty of them, though when you ask people they are unsure what ATM means (other countries know exactly what you mean).

Darned rain
Heart 0 Comment 0
My first attempt at night photography with the Canon - compare to a little while later!
Heart 0 Comment 0
How's this for a cycling road? (Or running road for some?)
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 81 km (50 miles)
Total: 706 km (438 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0