Friday Oct 24: Auch to Maubourguet - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

October 24, 2003

Friday Oct 24: Auch to Maubourguet

It was so cool in my room this morning, that I kind of jumped out of bed to get into my full cycling gear to warm up. I packed up the bike, headed out into the mist, and before I knew it I was around the corner, and up the hill, then around the top and down the other windy side, before curving around either a river or village, then winding and climbing another hill to another crest, and all over again. This kind of continued all day as the mists rolled over these green hills. It was beautiful, and in a little way reminded me of the terrain from two years ago on a bus between Heathrow and Oxford.

The best thing? Hardly any wind today! Was I dreaming? After a few hours, the constant climbing had my legs burning. Still, I was thinking how I was able to go this distance in this terrain, but back in September, there was no way I could have. I wanted to get far enough today so that I have a short day to Pau tomorrow, which I now do. Some of these little villages today were superb little things, and were almost haunting in the mists.

I found a nice hotel right in the middle of this small town, and since I was hungry and cold, I dropped my bags in the room and had went down to the restaurant for a meal of goose. Amazing. And then a nice hot shower.

I wandered the town a little bit, but there was not a lot here, as it is quite small, though still nice, plus the church looks as it must have been started in the XI or XII century. I also unloaded a bunch of memorabilia, maps and latest photo CD through La Poste to Canada. I love making the load lighter! Every cyclist will agree with me, I am certain. Every single mg makes a big difference.

Tomorrow I am planning for Pau, which is about 50 km away. And, since I have not had a rest day since last Friday in Arles, I just think maybe Sunday might be a rest day in Pau, where I can sit and admire the Pyrenees to the south, go through my mail (IF THEY GET IT FOR ME!), and rest up for the snowy or at least cold run through the mountains next week. Maybe if someone could lend me their Ski-Doo?

Church near the town centre, Maubourget
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 63 km (39 miles)
Total: 3,251 km (2,019 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0