Friday Nov 21: Santiago de Compostela: Rest Day - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

November 21, 2003

Friday Nov 21: Santiago de Compostela: Rest Day

Now I know what it is like to live on top of a speaker and to be dropped down a rubbish chute. Or at least that's what it seems like.

I was awakened late in the night by what must have been a nearby club. In the building beside me maybe? In the ground floor? Not sure, but close. And then at the crack of dawn construction resumed on the building on the other side with a loud CRASH!! Oh well, interesting.

Here I am in the web cafe early, but it is pouring cats and dogs out there so figured I would get this done before the service. At noon is the mass for Pilgrims during which I believe they swing that huge incense thingy through the arches of the church. Should be amazing. During the service that I happened upon last night I had a little time to stop and admire the interior - something else, I must say.

Then will be time for more local fare. I think today will be peppers in garlic and garlic prawns - both local specialties that I have read about a few times. I love garlic. No vampires are going to be bothering me for some time.

Boy, were they good. And so was the vino tinto (Rioja) with which I toasted my rest day in Santiago. I wandered the sodden streets a little while longer, but it was raining so hard that I was getting wet despite my spiffy new umbrella. I headed back to my room early enough so I could mention to them that the heat had forgotten to come on the night before, and they promptly sorted that out.

The rest of the day was a book-reading kind of day. And with the book being a Jeffrey Archer, I'd better find another one soon, since even my slow reading skills get me through his books fairly quickly.

Just prior to the Pilgrim's Mass
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0