THE INTRODUCTION BEFORE THE MAIN INTRODUCTION - Logic And Energy Debunk The Iowa Myth: Parts 1 & 2 - CycleBlaze

THE INTRODUCTION BEFORE THE MAIN INTRODUCTION

This will easily be the most spontaneous bike trip I've ever undertaken.  And it feels good.  A week ago I wasn't even thinking about the possibility of a tour, but then something shocked my gigantic brain into action.  "LET'S GO!"  Said the Shocking Something.   "RIGHT ON!" Said I.

The Shocking Something in my head had a pretty good reason for suggesting a second bike tour in 2018:  I got cheated out of part of my first one.  Back in February I began a 23-day tour, but a family situation brought me home after only 15 days.  And while those 15 days produced some fantastic desert experiences and a great deal of fun, they were marred slightly by a chest cold, sinus problems, sunburn, and a wound that required an emergency room visit.

So the way I see it, I should have at least another week of bike touring coming to me this year--plus another couple of days as compensation for the pain and aggravation of having to come back to an exceptionally long Minnesota winter.  That seems fair enough.  Surely, you must agree?

After a couple of days of passionately presenting my case to to my wife whenever I could work it into our conversation--followed by another day of begging--she agreed as well.  (Somewhat reluctantly, it's true, but even a reluctant agreement is an agreement in my opinion.)  Now that I have her approval, I feel the need to leave as soon as possible--before she has a chance to change her mind.

Short on time to plan anything involving air or rail travel, I knew I'd have to stay fairly close to home.  I thought to myself, "Hmmmm . . . if only I could think of someplace in the Midwest that's interesting, extremely scenic, and, most importantly, FUN."

"How about beautiful IOWA?" screamed the Shocking Something that was still loitering in my head. (A few people might recognize that guy as my cartoon alter-ego and cycling companion, G-2.)
Heart 0 Comment 0
"Iowa? I don't think so . . . but . . . wait a second . . . that idea is so crazy that it just . . . might . . . work."
Heart 0 Comment 0

There it is!  I am going to ride in the State of Iowa.  I haven't had time yet to map out an exact route, but that's OK.  I think the impromptu nature of my trip will provide a little adventure to an otherwise not-so-adventurous bike tour.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0