FORESTVILLE STATE PARK, MN: Day of Wine and Roadses (The Only One Who Thinks That's Funny Is Me) - Logic And Energy Debunk The Iowa Myth: Parts 1 & 2 - CycleBlaze

August 2, 2016

FORESTVILLE STATE PARK, MN: Day of Wine and Roadses (The Only One Who Thinks That's Funny Is Me)

Motivated by my ex-biking coach's pep talk last night, I set off into the heat and humidity and wind of a new day.  At this time, I'd like to apologize for "Vince Lombardi's" salty language.  I really should have fired him before he even had the chance to resign.  Oh well, I'm willing to let bygones be bygones and I'm ready to move on to the real world.

Approximately 20 miles into my ride, I came across the Four Daughter's Vineyard and Winery.  It was a very nice building and an interesting curiosity sitting there by itself out in the countryside along Highway 63.  I felt compelled to check it out.

My bike, landscaping, and part of the Four Daughters Winery.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The inside was even nicer than the outside.  It was big, tastefully decorated, and bottles of their products were displayed on the walls in very creative ways.  I was clearly out of my element.  My only frame of reference for how to behave in a wine-tasting room comes from the Paul Giamatti character in the movie Sideways.  Unlike him, I chose to be neither pretentious nor obnoxiously drunk, so I let the friendly wine server guide me through the process.  I'm glad I did.  She suggested I try a sampler of any five of the ten wines they produce.  She handed me a menu with typically flowery descriptions of each wine to help me determine which ones appealed to me.

I chose three whites and two reds.  She carefully poured each into little glasses and presented them to me right on the menu, just above the corresponding descriptions.  She also gave me a regular wine glass to pour the samples into so they could breathe, and a package of crackers to help me cleanse my palate in between the tastings.  I have to admit, this wine tasting experience was fun.

From left to right: crackers, long-stemmed wine glass, five samples placed on the menu.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The vineyard
Heart 0 Comment 0
The grapes
Heart 0 Comment 0

Rejuvenated by my wine-tasting experience, I set out into the increased heat and humidity of the afternoon hours.  Truth be told, however, it wasn't nearly as bad as yesterday.  I felt good and I enjoyed the southern Minnesota scenery all the way to Forestville State Park.

One of three little rural cemeteries I saw today.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A pastoral scene heading into the state park.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Me, hard at work on my journal at my campsite.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Oh No, Not Another Wine Review!

From the five wines I tasted, I selected a bottle of my favorite to bring to my campsite for a comprehensive review.  It was the humorously-named "Fronk."  (A clever derivation from the Frontenac Blanc grape which is ever so popular here in Minnesota.)  In general, I have always been partial to white wines and today was no exception.  Personally, I thought Four Daughters' reds lacked originality and grapiness.

It was the color of the "Fronk" that originally caught my eye at the winery.  It had an orangy hue, as if somebody squeezed the juices of a peach, with unwashed hands, into a glass of beer.  Very unique. 

I professionally uncorked the bottle with my Swiss Army Knife and poured it into my REI cup so it could breathe.  I tasted it and it was as delicious as I remembered.  After cleansing my palate with a handful of cheddar flavored Goldfish Crackers, the second pour wasn't all that good.  After another round of Goldfish, the third pour was nothing like I remembered and I had to throw the rest of it into the bushes.

I don't know what happened, but I would give the first cup of the Four Daughters "Fronk" a rating of four stars out of five.  By the third cup, I'm more inclined to reduce that rating to one star.

I would pair this "Fronk" with a Polish sausage grilled over twigs, a fresh peach, and a fine mass-produced, Wisconsin cheese curd.  Skip the Goldfish.

Perfect food pairings for the excellent-to-poor Four Daughters Fronk.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Tomorrow morning I will be in the state you've all been waiting for--beautiful and exciting IOWA.

Today's ride: 37 miles (60 km)
Total: 109 miles (175 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Scott AndersonHey, I think it’s very funny!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Scott AndersonYou're much too kind.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago