Small steps in uncertain times - Bridging the Gap - CycleBlaze

June 29, 2020

Small steps in uncertain times

The Katy Trail was a nice change from daily rides near my home turf. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed exploring the small byways of central Iowa and know that I will miss the big sky and open spaces after I move this fall. However, there is nothing like being on the road, even if it is just a few days on a rail trail. The Katy Trail experience was great in many ways, but reminded me that lodging and dining options are limited in many parts of America. Not to mention the heightened risk of traveling during a pandemic when public health is a partisan issue.

Now that I’ve completed an actual multi-day bike tour, I’m looking ahead – but taking baby steps toward an unknown future. My short-term plan is limited tours in the US and I’ve already sketched a trip to northern Minnesota and headwaters of the Mississippi later this summer. 

I am ending this journal now, not because my "tour" is finished but rather because of progress made navigating through a Covid world. I thank you all for following along as I discovered, or rediscovered, a beauty in the agrarian landscapes and small town spirit of Iowa. Your comments and support have been a real boost in these crazy times. Please stay safe.

Summer is here and the efforts of The Roosevelt garden committee are in full bloom
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 8
Mike AylingThank you Susan for sharing those rides with us

Mike
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Kathleen JonesThanks, Susan. Great following along with you and poking around.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Mike AylingThanks Mike - I appreciate you reading along. It's been a lot of fun for me.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Kathleen JonesThanks for following Kathleen! Poking around is a very apt description - I've really had a lot of fun and am glad you enjoyed it.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Suzanne GibsonI enjoyed riding along, and thanks for the encouragement to get out on even a short tour. There is nothing like being on the road.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Jeff TeelSusan,
I've so enjoyed the personal way you shared with us rural Iowa and some of what the Katy Trail has to offer. The Midwest is going to miss you when you move away!
Jeff
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Jeff TeelThanks Jeff - your comments mean a lot coming from someone who also enjoys cycling the Midwest.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Suzanne GibsonThanks for your comments Suzanne! I think that even a few days on the road is good for the soul, especially nowadays. I look forward to the day when I can get back to riding in Europe.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago