Day 4 - ending near Dawson, IA - Iowa on the Tri-speed - CycleBlaze

July 24, 2013

Day 4 - ending near Dawson, IA

rode on Raccoon River Valley Trail

Posted via email Thu Jul 25 08:35:02 2013 PDT

Awake this morning at 5:50am. Lots of trains overnight on tracks to the north, but I slept through most of their whistles. Took shower first thing, in a nice (roomy) showerhouse. Campsite R is a lone site on the side of a hill (with a flat spot), with a showerhouse at the top of the hill. There are other showerhouses closer to everyone else who's camping here at Swan Lake, so I had the place to myself. Took the (dry) tent down, and tried drying the ground cloth by turning it over on the ground in the sun. That, of course, didn't work, and I packed it wet (on both sides). Ate breakfast at 8:45am: Beanee Weenees, Pop Tarts, and animal cookies. I tightened the bike's chain, then left at 9:25am.

I followed my pre-trip placed GPS waypoints out of the park and onto a gravel road. It became apparent to me that I was avoiding the few extra miles it would take to put me on US-30, by riding on gravel roads. I was saving miles, but not time. I was looking forward to eating in Scranton, when I got there. I decided to stay with the gravel roads, for now. It was a partly-sunny/partly-cloudy, warm/cool day, with a gentle breeze from the north. Took a break at 10:32am to eat a bag of cashews and study the route some more.

Finally, at 12:52pm, I was in Scranton. Saw a company that makes garbage trucks. They had lots of completed ones parked in the shade of trees a few blocks up the street. Came next to Casey's. Since they had an air hose available, I checked my tires: front at 55psi, rear at 52.5psi. Took them both to 75psi (60psi to 80psi is where they should be). Scranton has a nice park south of Casey's. I decided to buy lunch items and eat them in the park. Lunch and a nap - that's what I did, starting at 1:14pm and ending at 2:03pm. Next I had to see Iowa's oldest still-in-use water tower. Found an NGS benchmark while I was at it.

Headed out of town east on 230th Street - this time I was making up the route as I went. Still gravel, with some hills thrown in. But it was very pretty, following a river. At 3:21pm, I was on 240th Street (which is paved). This road may have been where the original Lincoln Highway was, if I'm understanding correctly the road signs I saw. Crossed over Eureka Bridge at 3:32pm, and took a break there.

Continuing east, I arrived at the city limits of Jefferson at 3:52pm. I was heading for the Jefferson trailhead of the Raccoon River Valley Trail. Got diverted by Twiins Shoppe at 4:05pm, for a root beer float. Arrived at the trailhead at 4:22pm, and started down the trail at 4:30pm.

The trail is concrete at first, then asphalt. So much better for making time than the roads I was on this morning. I was hoping to make it to Perry, and that seemed reasonable now. Made it to Cooper at 5:28pm. Arrived at Herndon at 6:06pm. The trail splits here, and I needed to turn east. But first I purchased a one-day-use permit (for $2). (Back in Jefferson, there were only year-pass envelopes available, and nothing telling what the one-day fee is.) Started east at 6:25pm. Passed by Jamaica at 6:39pm, and was in Dawson at 7:05pm.

I stopped at Dawson to check out their restored depot. While there, I saw a brochure on camping at Dawson's Sportsman Park. That might work better than the city park in Perry as a place to stay for the evening - if it is close by. Turns out it's just 1200-feet out of my way. (What's that in miles?) This is a nice park - with hungry mosquitoes! Had to get the repellent on first thing. I selected tent campsite #2 and was self-registered by 7:45pm. Ate a Clif Bar and peanuts for supper. Got a sunset picture, then moved into the mosquito-free tent.

Another perfect evening after a great day.

Jeff

------------

Spent: $12.90 (lunch and snacks) + $3.50 (root beer float) + $2 (trail use permit) + $8 (campsite) = $26.40.

Day 4 - Carroll, IA to Dawson, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ new "New Way" garbage trucks - Scranton, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ 230th Street - Greene County, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ a barn quilt along CR-P14 (J Avenue) - Greene County, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ coming up on the Lincoln Highway - Greene County, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Raccoon River Valley Trail trailhead - Jefferson, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ North Raccoon River - Greene County, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Winkelman Switch information - Greene County, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ marker noting a well-known citizen - Cooper, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ inside restored Milwaukee Railroad depot - Dawson, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Dawson, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ tent camping area of Sportsman Park - Dallas County, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ protection from mosquitos +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 49 miles (79 km)
Total: 215 miles (346 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0