Day 11 - ending near Hampton, IL - Iowa on the Tri-speed - CycleBlaze

July 31, 2013

Day 11 - ending near Hampton, IL

rode on Great River Trail

Posted via email Thu Aug 1 16:36:02 2013 PDT

Awake at 5:34am. Had some light rain overnight, but it's just cloudy now. I sent in the report, then finished eating the bag of donuts left from last night. A gentleman walked by and stopped to talk. He's from Sabula, so I asked if the town ever gets flooded. He said no, but the road to the campground does. In fact the campground has been closed three times just this year due to flooding. This fellow knew a lot about the Great River Trail in Illinois I planned to ride on today, and told me how it goes around the Albany Indian Mounds. Later the camp hostess stopped by and told me how to find the start of the trail in Savanna (behind the fire station). All this was helpful information to me.

I left at 9:12am to arrive at The Sandbar Grill in Sabula [Iowa] at 9:31am. Had my usual, minus the sweet roll, since I was full of donuts. While eating I enjoyed over-hearing a family sitting behind me. They were excited about being on vacation - especially the dad.

I left at 10:08am for the ride north and east on the causeway to the bridge over the Mississippi River. Made it over the bridge and arrived in Savanna, Illinois, at 10:34am. Rode through downtown on IL-84, to behind the fire station at 10:46am. Stopped to pick up a current Illinois highway map and a few brochures near their train-car rest area. Over busy railroad tracks got me to the start of the trail at 10:55am.

Down the trail just a little ways is an arched bridge that goes over sets of railroad tracks. There's a double diamond crossing below next to the bridge. I got to see up-close from above a train move out. The trail is asphalt - easy-going. At 11:53am I detoured to read information boards at the Ingersoll Wetlands Learning Center Prairie. I came to a nice rest area at 12:43pm, and stopped for a Gatorade from a machine there. The sun was starting to come out. The trail is on roads some of the time, and I went pass the Thomson Prison, where no picture-taking is allowed.

I took the alternate route, rather than the bypass, into Fulton when I arrived there at 1:40pm. I wanted to see the Dutch windmill by the river, and also stop by my grandfather's gravesite at the cemetery in town. Went through the cemetery and arrived at the river-front at 2:10pm. The windmill is right there, but wasn't running today. Two retired-age gentlemen were there to show people around. They answered questions I had and also pointed out interesting facts about the windmill's construction and mechanics. They directed me to the Windmill Cultural Center across the street, where I heard interesting stories about the signaling done with windmills in the Netherlands during World War II. I could have spent a lot more time there, but needed to get going.

I started off at 2:55pm, then stopped to get a picture of the Fulton-Lyons Bridge after I was south of it. I almost lost the trail a few times, but then my GPS waypoints helped point the way. Arrived in Albany at 4:00pm. The trail does take a round-about path here, through the mounds' prairie area.

I was starting to think more about food, and was keeping an eye open for places to eat. Arrived at Cordova at 5:35pm. Food was indicated here, but the trail's routing bypassed the places to eat. I decided to not let this happen again when I got to Port Byron, and asked a passerby where a good place for supper was in town. She recommended Jimmie Lee's Bar and Grill - a block off the trail route. I arrived there at 6:32pm. They were busy, so I sat at the bar, where the waitress said food is also served. I ordered their two-brats-with-chips special, along with a Pepsi. A fellow about my age came in and sat down near me. We talked while waiting for our meals. He told me about the town's "Tug Fest", and how the Marines Corps' Birthday (November 10) is celebrated in a big way at Jimmie Lee's. It was relaxing sitting there, but it was also getting closer and closer to sundown.

I left at 7:15pm - on south through Rapids City, and finally to my destination: Illiniwek Forest Preserve, just north of Hampton. At 7:55pm I was at the campground office, and at 8:02pm, at campsite #7. This site has a wonderful view of the river and a lock & dam. I was the only one camping in the tent-only area, but people with cameras were here taking pictures of the sunset, or just enjoying it. One fellow walking by saw me and offered to take my picture. After that, I worked on getting the tent up before it got too dark. I was still a little hungry, so after the tent was loaded with the gear, I ate a Clif Bar and a pack of Pop Tarts. I'd put down the $5 deposit for a showerhouse key when I'd registered, so a shower was next.

Back in the tent I'm hearing trains and barge horns, but they're not keeping me awake enough to write the report. Maybe I'll take the day off tomorrow to get that done - and maybe even take a nap.

Jeff

------------

Spent: $9.42 plus $2 (breakfast) + $1.50 (sports drink) + $9.50 plus $2 (supper) + $14 (campsite) = $38.42.

Day 11 - Sabula, IA to Hampton, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking south at railroad bridge - Sabula, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Bombfire Pizza building - Sabula, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Bombfire Pizza van - Sabula, IA +
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ US-52 causeway - Sabula, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ northern end of the Great River Trail - Savanna, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ quad diamond rail crossing seen from Eugene T. Flack Bridge along Great River Trail - Savanna, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ I'm staying clear of this! +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ information boards - Ingersoll Wetlands Learning Center Prairie +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ dragonflies are our friends +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ Fulton Cemetery - Fulton, IL +
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ inside the Windmill Cultural Center - Fulton, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Great River Trail parallels IL-84 south of Albany, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ in recognition of Marine Corps Birthday celebrations held at Jimmie Lee's Bar & Grill - Port Byron, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ piers holding up I-80 near Rapids City, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 53 miles (85 km)
Total: 532 miles (856 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0