Day 10 - ending at Sabula, IA - Iowa on the Tri-speed - CycleBlaze

July 30, 2013

Day 10 - ending at Sabula, IA

Posted via email Wed Jul 31 05:11:02 2013 PDT

The sound of rain on the tent woke me up this morning at 6:00am. It was a light rain - more like sprinkles, but it sounds like a lot more inside the tent. Worked on report until 8:45am. I noticed when I got out of the tent that those who had set their tents up under trees had dry tents. Mine was only half-dry. The sprinkles had turned into a fine falling mist, so I got packed up and headed out at 10:23am.

I hadn't covered the gear with plastic, and as soon as I got to the campground entrance, it started misting harder. Saw on my park map that there was a picnic area ahead, so I proceeded. I came to a shelter where a park ranger was, and parked the bike. A family (mom and kids) arrived there at the same time. They were going to go through the caves. The park ranger asked if I was going to see the caves also. I said, "No, I'm just trying to stay dry." Then I listened to the required pre-caving talk the ranger gave the family. I'd checked the radar and figured the heavier rain would be through the area in half-an-hour. That was about the time needed to see the three walk-through caves. So I changed my mind and followed the family to the first cave. I enjoyed listening to the mom pointing out things she noticed as they went. The kids were very well behaved, and on their own were picking up trash they found as they went. As they headed on to crawl-through caves, I thanked them for letting me tag along, and found a trail back to my bike. The rain was now a mist, so I said goodbye to the park ranger and took off at 11:30am.

The wind was from the southeast, and that helped blow the mist on my glasses. It was like that all the way to Maquoketa. At 12:23pm, I arrived at a place I couldn't pass by: Flapjacks Family Restaurant. Lots of cars in their parking lot, but I was seated and served promptly. They offer breakfast anytime, so that's what I had: the "Maquoketa Meal Deal", a cinnamon roll, orange juice, and coffee. I enjoyed eating, and also being out of the misty rain. The rain had pretty much stopped when I left at 1:31pm.

Made it through town on IA-64, then as I cleared the east city limits, it started misting harder. There happened to be a shelter ahead by Prairie Creek, so I took refuge there for nine minutes, leaving at 2:01pm. The weather radar was showing no rain, so I figured it wouldn't get any worse. It was just enough to be a nuisance, and along with the southeast wind, it was slow going. But I figure, as long as you're moving, you're getting somewhere, and I eventually got to Preston just as the misty-rain picked up (at 3:55pm). Stopped at Oly's Garage (gas station/convenience store) for some snacks to eat at the GPS-indicated pavilion in town. Arrived at the pavilion at 4:12pm. I'd purchased coffee instead of something cold - today felt like a coffee day.

As I ate and drank, a pickup truck pulled up. The driver - Neil Andersen - got out and came over to talk with me. He wanted to know about my trip. Neil's a bicyclist who's been on twenty RAGBRAI's, including this year's. For thirteen of those years, he'd pedaled from Preston to get to the start. He told details about RAGBRAI week (lodging, eating, the weather) that were interesting to hear. The timing of his visit worked well, since the misty-rain had just let up when I decided I'd better keep moving (at 5:03pm).

The road east of Preston isn't in very good shape (Neil had cautioned me), and there is no paved shoulder. The misty-rain started up again. After a while, I saw a west-bound bicyclist up ahead, coming over a hill. We waved as we passed. Then I saw in my rear-view mirror that he'd made a U-turn. I slowed down, in case he was wanting to talk. When he got to me, he rode alongside and we did talk. His name is Greg Grant and he takes twenty-mile rides often from/to his lane on IA-64. Greg has a nifty device attached to his handlebars for mounting his waterproof/freeze-proof camera. [Note: I'm never planning a bicycle trip where I'll need a freeze-proof camera.] I let Greg get on his way, since the road traffic was making it hard to stay side-by-side. When I got to the town of Miles at 5:39pm, Greg was there resting at a gas station driveway. We talked some more about bikes, trips, and road safety, until the town's 6:00pm siren blew. I took off east and Greg headed west back home.

It wasn't so much the mist, but the darkness of the cloudy evening that made me decide to turn on my flashers east of Miles. Both Neil and Greg had told me about the steep downhill ahead for me. I was ready to be there - and was, finally. No cars in sight, I had the road to myself - sweet! I arrived at Sabula's city limits sign at 6:50pm, and Driscoll's Island at 6:53pm. I stopped there to look around, leaving at 7:02pm.

On toward Sabula proper - "Iowa's Island City". I stopped at the Hop-N-Stop for supper items: waxy chocolate-covered mini donuts and a chocolate milk. Proceeded south through town toward South Sabula Lake Park, but stopped first for a railroad bridge picture. Arrived in the park at 7:33pm, and with the help of the campground hostess, was at a site (#5) at 7:41pm that will catch the morning sun (if there is any).

Set up the wet tent, loaded it with the gear, then ate half the donuts before starting the report. I'm amazed that at 10:30pm, this almost-full campground has gone dead silent. I'm hearing splashes now and then from the water, and trains from both sides of the river. They won't stop me from going to sleep!

Jeff

------------

Spent: $12.25 plus $3 (breakfast) + $5.54 (snacks) + $3.78 (supper) + $17 (campsite) = $41.57.

Day 10 - Maquoketa, IA to Sabula, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 0 Comment 0
+ waiting out the rain - Maquoketa Caves State Park +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ " . . . rivers and groundwater left their mark on the land, carving valleys and creating special features such as Maquoketa Caves." +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ a walk-thru cave - Maquoketa Caves State Park +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Flapjacks Family Restaurant - Maquoketa, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ a place for staying dry +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Seneca Williams Mill - Maquoketa, IA +
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
+ highway IA-64 - Jackson County, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
RAGBRAI veteran Neil Andersen of Preston, IA - July 30, 2013
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ tractors! - Jackson County, IA +
Heart 1 Comment 0
cyclist Greg Grant at Miles, IA - July 30, 2013
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ camera mount on Greg's bike +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Iowa's Island City - Sabula, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 37 miles (60 km)
Total: 479 miles (771 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0