The bike: ah yes, the bike... - In Tasmania - CycleBlaze

The bike: ah yes, the bike...

Cranky Franky, the burly Surly Long Haul Trucker...

I started out with a standard LHT complete. This bike is very well spec'd off-the-rack and represents excellent value for money.
It does have some shortcomings though:

- the cantilever brakes are next to useless

- the bar end shifters are inconveniently located

- the OEM Continental Contact tires are rubbish.

The colour is called yuuuuk (actually it's called truckaccino - yuuuuk is how I feel looking at it).

AND - it is far heavier than (I think) it really needs to be.

So I've replaced the brakes with Tektro V-brakes and levers, relocated the shifters on top of the bars using Paul Thumbies, and ditched the Conti's for slightly narrower, slick rolling 700C x 32 Schwalbe Marathon Supremes. Can't do anything about the weight though (or can I, now where is my drill).

Oh, and of course, a Brooks B17 for the (my) bottom end...

And for the baggage - there's a Tubus Ergo rack for the front and a Tubus Cargo for the rear. And a full complement of Ortlieb Rollers, bar bag and a small rack pack.

Finally, SKS fenders will hopefully keep most of the mud off.


Welcome to my nightmare...

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0