New Norfolk to Hobart: Hobart bound, I wish I was... - In Tasmania - CycleBlaze

November 18, 2009

New Norfolk to Hobart: Hobart bound, I wish I was...

Today I will be in Hobart, back where I started. The route is short and promises to be easy.

A fine sunny day is expected, perfect for a triumphant re-entry to the city. I don't want it to rain on my (private) parade.

Not having a big day ahead, I had planned a lazy start to the day, but woke at the usual time, so I got packed and headed off to the local bakery for breakfast, and was out on the road by eight am.
Leaving New Norfolk the highway runs along the bank of the by now wide Derwent River, with a smooth, fast running surface. Cranky Franky, the burly Surly Long Haul Trucker seemed to sprout wings and fly down the road, and I covered the last of the Lyell Highway in no time at all.
Soon I was on the outskirts of the city, and taking the old highway through the suburbs, I continued to follow the river, with fine views all around, until I reached Claremont, best known as the site of the Cadbury chocolate factory and its model workers village. Here I turned on to the Inter-City Cycleway, which followed the railway line through the industrial back streets all the way to the city.

And then, just like that, it's over. I am back at Salamanca Place where I started, for another photo with Abel Tasman.

In keeping with other southern hemisphere paradoxes, such as Christmas in summer and water flowing uphill, the swans are black...

The city awaits...


And upon my return - g'day Abel, old mate - you're still here then...

Today's ride: 38 km (24 miles)
Total: 1,116 km (693 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0