Maps and information: the where and how and when... - In Tasmania - CycleBlaze

Maps and information: the where and how and when...

Bicycle Tasmania has a fantastic resource for anyone planning a Giro Tasmania. It has detailed information and pretty much covers everything the tourist needs to know.

More information can be found on the Discover Tasmania page, including this excellent self-guided cycle touring map.  

Edit: The map has been recently updated, and much useful information added. I know it will come as a surprise, but Tasmania is a place where touring cyclists are welcomed.

Here's my proposed route. It deviates just a little from the Giro, and includes a side trip by ferry to Port Arthur on the Tasman Peninsula (as recommended by the (original) Cycle Tasmania map), and also a circuit south of Hobart along the Huon River and D'Entrecasteaux Channel.

And while I'm in Hobart I'll try to motivate myself for the challenging climb to the summit of Mt Wellington, about 20 kms of climbing from the city centre.

Edit: I didn't get to either of these side trips, or tackle Mt Wellington. Perhaps leaving them to the end of the tour was a mistake. But after suffering the discomfort of a severe saddle sore for most of the trip, I really just wanted to stop riding.

I have a full month to complete the approximately 1500 km trip, so it will be a leisurely pace with plenty of time for R&R or to wander off on some byway.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0