Launceston to Westbury: not far for a lazyguyonabike... - In Tasmania - CycleBlaze

November 6, 2009

Launceston to Westbury: not far for a lazyguyonabike...

Today I'm heading for Westbury, only a short ways from Launceston. I wanted to rest here after yesterday, but around 3000 members of the national Harley Owners Group are in town for a rally, and all the reasonably priced accommodation is booked out.

A warm sunny day is expected, with easterly winds. I'm betting there will be a north-westerly sea breeze in the afternoon.

I was really disappointed to have to leave the backpacker, it's the best I've ever been in. Rather than pay for 5 star accommodation I'm going to use my tent for the first time.

After a visit to the city centre for breakfast I took a stroll around Cataract Gorge, then set off for Westbury. It was a long steady climb leaving the city and my legs really felt quite heavy after yesterday, but after the initial climb, the route rolled gently through the Georgian villages of Hadspen, Carrick, and Hagley.

As expected the sea breeze arrived to slow my progress, and I was glad to reach Westbury in the early afternoon and set up camp at Andy's Bakery. Andy's has a camping ground and hot showers for a nominal charge, and free wifi.

So here I am, catching up on the last few days when there was no internet available, and last night the service at the backpacker was so slow as to be almost unusable.

Cataract Gorge...

No, it's not England...


Historic buildings like this one in Carrick are heritage listed...

Today's ride: 40 km (25 miles)
Total: 536 km (333 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0