Cradle Mountain: reverie - In Tasmania - CycleBlaze

November 10, 2009

Cradle Mountain: reverie

After yesterday's hard yakka I'm having a lay day at Cradle Mountain. I had a lazy lie-in, eventually rising to see Adam off, then wandered over to the cafe for breakfast and to catch the shuttle bus to Lake Dove.

I should have taken a picture of Adam - he had two huge panniers, a tent, and a sleeping bag, all over the back wheel, and was wearing an overstuffed backpack, with only a handlebar bag on the front. He reckoned he had too much gear, and I agreed, and suggested he mail some onward, or use the local bus service to forward some of his gear. But he was filled with the energy and enthusiasm of youth, and I think he will be OK. It's possible we'll meet up again in Strahan, as he is taking a little side trip on his way there.

I have been somewhat disappointed with my performance. My average speeds have been rather ordinary, and I've felt it necessary to ride conservatively. But yesterday I rode all the way out of Cethana Gorge. Yes, I had to mash the pedals very slowly in my lowest gear, but I didn't have to walk. So when strapping young Adam admitted that he walked most of the way I felt greatly encouraged.

It was a much cooler day today, with a little cloud, and it would have been much more pleasant for riding than the past few days. It was still quite warm however, and the 6 kilometre walk around Lake Dove helped stretch my stiff and sore legs.

I was back at the caravan park a little after midday, and stopping briefly at the kiosk to buy food for dinner, and today's and tomorrow's lunches, I settled back for a little siesta, before rising to write up my journal and perform a little bike maintenance; lube the chain and inflate the tyres, a quick check over - everything seems fine.

Cradle Mountain - Lake Dove...

Boatshed on Lake Dove...

Freeloaders enjoyed the walk, but decided the lake was too cold for swimming...


Lichen encrusts the shingles on the boatshed...

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0