Vieng Xay to Vek - Indochina Pursuit - CycleBlaze

January 27, 2018

Vieng Xay to Vek

No hotels on this road

In the morning, I went on the cave tour.

Then I headed West. Almost immediately, it became very mountainous. I had to take the descents slowly so that my V brakes won't overheat. Fortunately, it was respectable tar with easily avoidable potholes.

Went night fell, the nearest commercial accommodation was 20 km away. So I asked a shop keeper for accommodation. She showed me a nice clean bedroom and a bathroom with hot water. I offered her 10 dollar, but she wanted only 5.

Bomb crater in front of one of the caves
Heart 2 Comment 0
Staircase to artillery cave
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rocks and water can fall from the cave roof, so they build a second roof
Heart 0 Comment 0
Laos does have some environmental problems
Heart 1 Comment 0
Why is everyone drying this grass in the sun ?
Heart 0 Comment 1
Andrea BrownIt’s “broom season”. They gather this grass and make it into the soft, swishy brooms you see in the markets there.
Reply to this comment
6 years ago

Today's ride: 86 km (53 miles)
Total: 890 km (553 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0