Sam Soum to Nong Khiaw - Indochina Pursuit - CycleBlaze

January 30, 2018

Sam Soum to Nong Khiaw

A meetup

Nong Khiaw from the viewpoint
Heart 1 Comment 0
The valleys were covered with blankets in the early morning
Heart 0 Comment 0

I started at daybreak. In Vieng Kham, I saw a touring bicycle parked in front of one of the houses. It belonged to a German lady heading the opposite direction. The owner of the house was a French lady working for Agrisud International, a development agency funded mostly by European governments.

After an interesting discussion, I continued. On the way, I quickly visited the Pha Tok cave. 

I estimate that I climbed 15000 meter since I left the Red River Delta a week ago. Only a few more hills remain.

Late afternoon, I made the steep hike to the viewpoint that overlooks the town. A dozen or so people gathered there to see the sun set. We then descended in darkness.

Today's ride: 76 km (47 miles)
Total: 1,162 km (722 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0