Kampot to Phu Quoc - Indochina Pursuit - CycleBlaze

March 4, 2018

Kampot to Phu Quoc

My first detour for the day was Phnom Chhnork. But the road was so bad, that I skipped it.

I saw many Westerners on bicycles in Kampot, some touring and some just cycling for fun. This morning, 3 recreational cyclists passed me and I then followed them in their slip stream for many kilometres.

The border crossing went smoothly and I immediately went to the first ferry ticket office on my map. It was the car ferry and it was in the process of being loaded. So I quickly bought a ticket for $10 and boarded. Ten minutes later we were off.

In Phu Quoc, I made a quick stop at the (relatively) new international airport, hoping they would have free WiFi. But they didn't. Fortunately a restaurant just a few km further did.

It's nice to be back in Vietnam. I just need to sort out a few details, like getting a working SIM card and changing dollars to Dong.

The cyclists that I followed.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A lotus farm in bloom
Heart 0 Comment 0
Salt farm ??
Heart 0 Comment 0
One of the boats the ferry passed.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A car ferry, just like the one I was on.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sea birds in the slip stream of the ferry.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another car ferry
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 80 km (50 miles)
Total: 3,523 km (2,188 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0