Angkor part 1 - Indochina Pursuit - CycleBlaze

February 10, 2018

Angkor part 1

Thailand and Cambodia both have high ATM charges. In Thailand I withdrew much more cash than I needed and today I exchanged it for dollars at Acleda  Bank. Their markup was only 1.5 %, so my strategy worked well.

The Angkor ticket office is a money making machine.

Angkor Wat is a disappointment. I had to leave my bicycle at the outer perimeter and walk almost a kilometer in the heat. Then locals would pass me on motorcycles. Or they would endlessly try to sell me food, drinks, textiles or guidebooks.

But the Bayon temple was actually quite pretty. It's how I picture the Inca ruins. And I guess the size of Angkor makes it so appealing. Whatever style you like, or state of decay, you will find it.

Tree growing on top of a wall
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 56 km (35 miles)
Total: 2,193 km (1,362 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0