Meeting Nick and Veronica in their Upside Down House. - the journey - CycleBlaze

August 13, 2011

Meeting Nick and Veronica in their Upside Down House.

My campsite was in a narrow grove of trees between the road and a golf course. An elderly grounds man walking the fence this morning almost jumped out of his shoes when I said good morning from the undergrowth. After a moment's silent pause, he returned "Aya mornin"; and continued his inspection of the fence. I wish I had remained quiet. I was out of there shortly after in anycase before he, or someone else returned. I cycled towards a place on the map called Ruthin which was reached a little after nine o'clock. I was now back in hilly country, and the road ahead could only go up as I faced a wall of hills stretching ahead to distance ridges.

Splitting off the busy road through town, I turned up, a hard grind up an extremely steep hill, which then climbed more easily for a further four miles through pine plantation eventually to emerge crossing a slope with pine plantation to the right on the upper side of the road, while below the road was a fine view over an upland valley. I stopped to eat a cheese sandwich and drink tea in a clearing studying activity in the valley. Horses over there, a house down below and the long brow of moorland on the far side of the valley. Riding further, the road plummeting down the valley to enter a hamlet via a narrow bridge whereupon, the road swung left at an old pub and then twisted up, ascending a gentle hill, crossing over this hill for a further few miles before descending down to the busy A 5, the main road to North West Wales.

I had Cycled only a mile north west on the aforementioned road when I saw a billboard for a cafe with free wifi ahead, so cycling ahead and steering off into the car park, I enter a pretty brick building with a veranda along with my computer and order a coffee, and then take a seat at a table. I open the computer and with fingers crossed click on connect. How wonderful after yesterday's fiasco, It connected instantly without any registration page or whatever nuisance. Opening my email, I see an email from Nick which in short read: We live 30 miles from Chester near Ruthin, and included a phone number for me to contact them to say when I would be coming. Ruthin. I thought over what I'd just read. Could it be the same Ruthin? I thought on. It has to be as thirty miles from Chester...How many other Ruthins are there within a thirty mile radius? Feeling sure that the Ruthin I cycled past this morning was indeed Ruthin near where Nick lives, it was a relieve that I wouldn't be cycling any further west and that Is so close, only twelve miles. Shame Is unable to find a wifi connection which worked yesterday as I could have been in Ruthin yesterday. I then ordered lunch as the food looked good on the few other customer's tables, before setting off, back from whence I came.

Riding back on the opposite side is seeing everything again in reverse, I could say I remember this or that on the way, the descend down to the narrow bridge which riding this way I'd to climb, the horses, and things which past the side of the eye too quickly and go unnoticed are more noticeable and seen from a different perspective when riding the opposite way. Also I hadn't missed a red phone box at the end of a road two miles up the hill from Ruthin. Is hoping the phone wouldn't be out of order, which is usual, or take emergency calls only, another possibility. I found the phone working although, I mush have a prepaid card, another eventuality which I hadn't considered. So I ended up making a reverse charge call. Nick says he'll meet me in the square in half an hour.

It was a slow grind up a steep street to the square where I saw Nick standing astride his bike with his back to me talking to a shopkeeper. The shopkeeper said when I halted beside them "he rode up the hill quickly and without standing". It had been two years since I'd seen Nick and he hadn't changed a bit. We had much catching up to do during the two mile ride along country lanes to the village where he lives with wife Veronica in a barn conversion. Nick commented as I come in the door "We live in an upside down house"; as the bedrooms and bathroom are downstairs, the lower windows being small and big windows aren't so critical for sleeping, while the livingroom and kitchen are upstairs, by reason that the big windows upstairs provide lots of natural light and a view toward the hills with Ruthin church spire visible through the trees.

I have much to thank Nick and Veronica for, their warm hospitality and the delicious meal that evening. Many thanks.

bilingel sign on the way into Ruith
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0