Travel day - I've never been so ill prepared or so determined to tour - CycleBlaze

June 1, 2019

Travel day

I was awake off an on all night long, worried about the big ride on Sunday. 4,800 feet of climbing is an intimidating way to start a tour.

We had a measly 3.5 hour drive to Moab. Oren had a three day drive (!). We had agreed on a 5 PM dinner time in Moab to beat the rush. That means we had the entire morning to get organized. Jacinto went to the gym. I went for a 15 mile stretch my legs ride.

We hadn't eaten all of the food in the fridge. We both had an odd meal of leftovers, but there were extras to take with us. Jacinto was happy to start his trip with leftovers. He's ahead one burrito and a chicken breast.

It took forever for us to pack. I was giving Jacinto a verbal check list. He had forgotten bike shorts. That could be problematic! I know I have too much stuff. I'm going to have to make a final cut. I have too much food, as usual. I have two pairs of tights. One pair with a flag theme - red and white stripes on one leg. The other leg is navy blue with white stars. They're great! On Memorial Day I had a woman violently stop her car, fling the door open, and leap out onto the street with her arms and legs outspread. She also had holiday themed tights - hers had one red leg and one navy leg. Both had stars. We were quite happy with ourselves.

I showed the tights to Oren to gauge his reaction - the tights are quite in your face. My official stand is whatever it takes to make me noticeable. The truth is that the tights aren't visible from the rear on a recumbent. They would be better on a traditional bike. They might not make the cut - but I think they are fun. Everyone smiles and that's the point.

We left Rifle 1.5 hours late. I drove. That means we went just a tad over the speed limit and made no stops. We arrived at the motel 8 minutes before dinner time. $113. includes tax at the Apache Motel. It's an older motel off the main road. John Wayne stayed here back in the day. We are here because we can leave our vehicles while we are gone. Plus it's fairly cheap for Moab during the season. The room is large, the carpet is stained. The bathroom has new tile. The TV is flat screen, but not HD. The Rockies are playing. The wi-fi is excellent.

We went to dinner early as Oren suggested due to Moab being a busy, happening place. We were eating dinner and discussing our next meal. This seems to be a common theme when cycling. The motel breakfast started at 7 and was all carbs. Oren and I wanted to be on the road at 6:30. We went to the Mavrick convenience store to get breakfast fixings for Oren. I had oatmeal as part of my food stash. Jacinto is good with his leftovers from home.

It was 92 degrees with blue skies and a stiff south wind as we made our way back to the motel to try the bikes out. Jacinto is horrified at what his bike weighs. He has a giant bag of clothes on one side and coffee fixings on the other side. That includes a percolator. His trunk bag is completely full of snacks. But he will be fine. I just need to sneak in a few common use items, such as the chain lube and the sunscreen. He will tell me the chain lube is mine, because I am very good to clean my chain while touring. Jacinto generally only does his on layover days. For some reason that nice Surly bike puts up with the poor treatment.

I'd better go look over my choices. We can still leave things in the van here. I did bring a new combo battery pack/charger than I'm excited about.https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B0743BHP3M/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I'm also bringing a HydroFlask - it's way too heavy - but there's nothing better than a COLD drink of water on a hot day.

If I dare say, the weather looks friendly tomorrow. Not too hot, not too much wind. Oren drove up through Monticello and said the traffic was very heavy. Tomorrow is Sunday. I hope we miss the most of the traffic.

Genny says they always get a room with two beds because their stuff needs a bed of its own. That is such a true statement.I'm feeling ruthless as I look over at the giant pile on the other bed. Jacinto says I will feel more ruthless after all of the climbing tomorrow . .

It takes two men to pump up the tires.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I doubt Jacinto will be up for a start of the trip photo - here's this one instead.
Heart 1 Comment 0
We all took a spin around the parking lot to make sure the bikes survived the drive. Jacinto worked some more on his seat. Oren wasn't impressed with the size of Jacinto's tool kit. He says his is much larger.
Heart 0 Comment 2
Mike AylingD##k measuring contest?
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Kelly IniguezNo comment from the female in the house!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Jacinto took this night photo of the neon sign. I love old neon signs. With the mysteries of the internet, it took three days to show up in my inbox . . .
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0