Routing and map. - I've never been so ill prepared or so determined to tour - CycleBlaze

Routing and map.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Good buddy Oren came up with this route. I begged him to tour with us this summer, telling him that we would ride anywhere, just please come tour with us. Here's where Oren wanted to ride.

Utah has been on my list for a long time. I think fall would be a great time to ride Utah. However, we are available in the summer. Oren and I have agreed that we might get on the road at daylight to beat the heat. Jacinto? He loves heat, he's a lizard. Jacinto is concerned about the wind. We will be out there in the wide open spaces with no mountains to protect us. We drove through this area on our way to Tucson. Jacinto commented that the days could be very painful against a headwind. He ended up making a request with Oren to schedule a short day to Mexican Hat, just in case.

I am tentatively planning to bring an umbrella to combat the heat. But my best defense is going to be riding early. I am hoping we will be lucky about getting into our lodging before normal check in time . . . I wrote The McLaine brothers.  I've followed their many journals with great interest. They ride recumbents AND they also ride in the wee hours of the morning. I asked them how they managed to check into their rooms by 10 AM daily. Did they pay for two nights and only stay one? No, they've always managed to be lucky and get into the rooms early. That all sounds hopeful. Oren and I agreed we could have an extended meal in a nice air conditioned restaurant while we waited for our rooms if necessary.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 1