Our first day off! - I've never been so ill prepared or so determined to tour - CycleBlaze

June 11, 2019

Our first day off!

I am so ready to do nothing. I have already washed my clothes and lubed the bicycle chain, typical day off activities. Those are done a day early because, I am going to do NOTHING and it will be great!

We only have two days off this trip. We traded 1-2 days off to shorten potential tough riding days. I plan to enjoy this day to the fullest. My version of enjoying a day off when on tour is to lounge around. Nothing! I'm doing nothing!

In the morning - I stayed up until midnight (!) watching Top Gun on TV. Some movies don't age well, I go back and watch them and I wonder what it was that made them a hit the first time. An example of this is Urban Cowboy. I think this is the first time in our entire 33 year marriage that I stayed up and watched TV while Jacinto went to sleep.

I turned the cooler on to 69 degrees because Jacinto had already been complaining about it roasting. Note that Oren mentioned at dinner that he had turned his room heater on.

I was a little hot all night long and didn't sleep well. The pillow was too hard, the bed too lumpy (a disappointment in our otherwise wonderful overnight stay). Jacinto said he didn't sleep well either. I woke up at 7. We've agreed to go to breakfast at 8. The day is enticingly ahead of me. One thing I'm going to do for sure is stretch. I certainly didn't train for the trip - muscle memory must be a real thing.

I had a long nap after breakfast and woke up just in time for lunch. The restaurant here is delicious - I ate half a chicken club sandwich and a salad. I feel like a piglet! They make all of their own pies and cookies. There's a bakery station right next to the front door so you can't miss the cookies. $1.85 each. I did discover that a giant cup of soft serve ice cream is $2.50 and I've had a couple of those over our stay.

Dinner is at 6. I've cleaned the chain . . . . I asked Jacinto if he were pleasantly bored. He didn't agree to the pleasantly part, but did say he was bored and that we only have one more rest day this trip so we should enjoy it.

I ate pork loin for dinner. It was fabulous. Everything I've eaten here has been memorable for a good reason. I even had cherry pie with ice cream for dessert. I had three full meals today, despite the most exercise I did the entire day was walking to the restaurant!

Oren and I agreed on a 7:30 depart in the morning. Tomorrow is a downhill day into the heat. Wind shouldn't be a factor.

A film company wanted me to wire money or at least send it overnight. I sent this photo of the only option available. It was acceptable.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0