My new to me bike. - I've never been so ill prepared or so determined to tour - CycleBlaze

My new to me bike.

You read most of the story on the first page. Here is the new bike. It still lacks fenders. Typically I load up the panniers with touring weight starting around spring break. It is two weeks until departure and I have one lightly loaded pannier installed. Look at me, being all laid back.

I have ridden three rides of 50 miles in 2019. None longer. Now that I finally have a touring triple crankset installed, I'm doing some climbing. That is a Velo Orange Grand Cru triple crankset. Climbing steep grades is no longer an issue. Oren assures me that on our 4,8xx feet of climbing the first day, no grades are worse than 6% and that most are in the 3-4% range.

I have set this bike up as close to identical to my old bike as possible. I did trade wheel sets, moving my Sugar Wheel Works built Phil Wood wheels over to this bike.

Downhills are becoming enjoyable again. Crosswinds no longer cause me to tense up in anticipation of a shimmy. Imperfections in the road surface? Pppffft. No issue with this stable LWB.

I'm so mentally ready for a good touring season. I'm hoping my legs have good muscle memory.

2010 Stratus XP in the rare K frame. XL size. Hen's teeth are easier to find.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Update 5/20/2019-

We finally got my bike all put together. It took forever to get the bike back from the crank ordeal (giving up on the Rotors, ordering a new crankset, waiting for it to get installed). Then I had to order a rack and fenders. Jacinto just tonight installed the fenders. He was putting away the tools when he decided to try pedaling - the chain hit the edge of the rear fender. We had noticed that it was installed at a different point than the other bike. That’s why - chain rub. The tools came back out . . .

Then I asked Jacinto to tighten up the velcro straps on the new seat mesh. The seat back frame is a U shape - it doesn’t have a closed frame. Jacinto pulled so hard, that it’s noticeable how the two tops of the U are bowed slightly in. I didn’t say too much, I did ask him to tighten them - just not so much as to bend the frame! In the end we traded seats. I had already mentioned that the other seat was more comfortable - I think I have that mesh broken in to my shape . . . trading seats isn’t too much trouble - four quick release pins . . . but he was beyond done with helping me.

I am amused at myself . . . I bought those Ortleib panniers in Tucson this December. I’m very pleased with their weight. I don’t so much like the buckle fastening system. The female end isn’t a buckle that I can hold in my hand, but is welded to the pannier. That makes it difficult to hold both ends to snap them together. I might get used to it? Perhaps it’s easier when the pannier is full, instead of partially full. Rather than make a month long commitment to annoying myself, I put the Arkel Dry Lites back on . . . I only bought the Ortliebs because of my warranty issue with Arkel over that recumbent seat bag . . . I grudgingly have to admit that the Dry Lites are perfect for my style of touring. I wish they were another company's bag.

Finally my bike is ready to ride - less than two weeks before the tour! Jacinto’s bike had a tune up, but he hasn’t ridden it yet. He’s not as concerned as I am.

[pic 2299389]

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0