Kayenta - Tuba City, AZ - I've never been so ill prepared or so determined to tour - CycleBlaze

June 6, 2019

Kayenta - Tuba City, AZ

Heart 0 Comment 0

1,879 elevation gain. 2,709 descent.

We did a last minute room change last night. The air conditioning didn't work in our room or Oren's. The maintenance man came over, left, came back again. He said it was blowing cold now, keep the door shut. By 9 PM Jacinto decided it wasn't going to get cold. We talked about opening the window, as the evening air was pleasant. But the window was for decoration only.

Jacinto made the trek to the office a couple of times. I asked if we could just sleep in a new room and then go back to the first room to get ready. No, we have to move all of our stuff. Although I knew we would sleep better in a cool room, I had been on the verge of tucking in for the night. I was perhaps a little less agreeable than I could have been while gathering all of our stuff up.

By 9 PM my eyes were closed. I had decided on a very early departure to beat the heat, wind, and RV's. Oren would be leaving some later. He rides faster, so he might catch me. Or he might not.

The shower in the new room never got past luke warm. I let it run and run and did most of my morning exercises while I waited in vain. The hot water in the sink was just fine. Explain that one? I thought perhaps they had some sort of modulator on the hot water so people wouldn't take too long of a shower. But the hot water in the other room was fine. This was cold enough that I didn't want to turn around and let the water run down my back . . .

This was a more expensive room of the trip. $182. It was a spacious room. Nice bedclothes, nice bathroom. But only nice. I think we are paying for location. Tonight we are in Tuba City at the Legacy Inn. For some reason we have a suite there. I called last night to say we would be arriving early and could we possibly get in the room. 3 PM the lady says. I'm leaving early anyway. But, she added our reservation was for the legacy suite. I looked at our reservation. Yes, that is correct. $149. before taxes. A standard room is $148. What the heck, for $1. more, I can stay in the suite. But as a way of comparison, Oren said at the time he reserved, his room was $131. I must have looked at the room prices/choices at the time and decide for $18. extra dollars we would have the fancy suite?

I should get going - maybe I can get in the suite early! Today is long on miles - 71. I should be ahead of the wind, but it isn't forecast to be a huge issue. High today for Tuba City is 93 degrees. We are going lower in elevation - things are warming up.

I was all ready to go at 5:30 AM and it was virtually pitch black outside, with just the slightest hint of orange. I did not bring a headlight. It was no problem to sit down for a half hour and browse the net!

I had a text from Oren, he was still getting ready, he would see me down the road. I took off at 6 sharp. Kayenta is a busy place. Even at that hour there were people out and about. The air was brisk, but it felt good. 58 degrees.

We had a gradual 20 mile climb to 5,800 feet. Then an extended descent to 4,800 feet. Tomorrow we go down another 1,000 feet. The lower in elevation we get, the warmer it is. The warm weather has been making Oren happy. He's a thin skinned southern boy.

This entire trip we've had better than average pavement quality. There's much brand new pavement. Almost always there's a sufficient shoulder. It would be much more useful without the poorly placed rumble strip. Cars continued to be polite. I found it interesting that I've had several semis give me encouraging honk, honks as they pass. There was not much traffic to start, but it picked up during the day and got quite heavy near Tuba City.

I saw three dear crossing the road this morning. That's the first wild animals I've seen the entire trip.

The beginning of the day had pinion and sage brush. The hillside had interesting rock formations.

The climb was gradual. Perhaps I used my granny gear briefly a couple of times? At the top was a large mine. https://www.azcentral.com/story/money/business/energy/2017/02/23/arizona-kayenta-coal-mine-hopi-navajo-tribes-power-plant/98144914/

Then the swooping downhill began!

I wasn't so sure about this long day. I'm short on training this year, in both miles and climbing. Luckily today had 20 miles of climbing and 53 miles of downhill. If we had been riding the other direction, I'd probably still be out there riding! I was coasting along at 15-18 mph, doing the mental math of how many hours would it take to coast to town. Not like I really thought I would coast for 50 miles - but it's a fun game anyway.

I kept thinking Oren would catch up to me. He's faster than I am in general, but especially climbing, so I expected he would catch me soon. But I didn't see him until mile 35, at the gas station. After that we rode roughly together. I told Oren I was planning on going to Subway when I got to town, I would see him there. He said he'd wait for me outside of town and we could ride in together.

There was one more climb at mile 45, just so our legs wouldn't be too happy. I was about 1/3 of the way up the hill and Jacinto called. He was ready to leave town (note that I've been on the road five hours at this point) and couldn't find his headphones. He had already checked with the maid. She had cleaned the other room. No headphones. I suggested if they were in his helmet, they might have dropped out on the walk to the new room. Or perhaps he left them at Taco Bell as neither of us could remember charging them. I don't know the rest of that story. Just that he was still in Kayenta at 11 AM. I hope the wind treated him kindly. Oren and I had no wind to speak of until 7-8 miles out of town, then we had a light headwind. We agreed that we might get in early and have to wait for the room, but at least we wouldn't be battling a headwind to town.

We stopped outside of town and discussed the choices. Sonic, right in front of us. Oren doesn't like Sonic. McDonalds - we could have a salad there. Subway, was right up a hill. I nixed the hill. We headed too McDonalds. The laugh was on us - the giant, giant McDonalds sign has an arrow under it. You have to go up the hill to McDonalds also. Forget that. We decide to get something cheap at Denny's next to the motel. As we are turning around, I see the Subway. It is about a half block up the hill. We go there. They have a huge, huge line. Maybe 15 people. We almost leave, but what else do we have to do? I got Jacinto a sandwich, thinking he'll be starving when he gets in and wondering if he will be in in time for dinner. Oren is guessing Jacinto will be here at 4 PM. Let's see what happens . . .

We hung out for awhile, until Oren got cold from drinking too much Dr. Pepper. Then we went to the motel to try our luck. Oren's room was ready. He thought this place would be too fancy and we wouldn't be able to take our bikes in. It is fancy! If I run away from home, come look for me at the Legacy Inn in Tuba City. It's a wonderful deal for the money. Especially compared to last night's $180. for no AC, no wi-fi, and a lukewarm shower.

I had reserved a suite (whatever got into me?), but it was on the second floor and would be the last room they clean because it's so large (!). I ended up trading down to a smaller suite on the first floor that was ready. I got a whole $4.00 credit.

Here I am, in the living room, sitting in a comfy chair with an ottoman, typing this. We have a little kitchen and a giant king size bed. I sure wish we could have this room folded up and taken with us every night. I could just pop it open when we get to our destination. What do you think of that idea?

Jacinto had a totally different ride. He didn't leave Kayenta until 11:30. He didn't find his headphones or buy new ones. When I asked how he liked the downhill, he asked "What downhill?". Oren and I had a wonderful extended downhill for 20-30 miles. Jacinto worked the whole way. He must have had a headwind from that point, but feels he had a headwind for the last 30 miles. He estimates 12-15 miles an hour. Jacinto wolfed down the Subway I bought him and we are going to eat Chinese food as soon as he gets out of the shower. He's starving. That's all I learned about his ride today. Maybe I will find out more over dinner.

We all agree this is the best place to stay and it's too bad we don't have a layover day here. Breakfast is included and it sounds pretty good - sausage, eggs, southwestern eggs, plus the usual carbs. I used to look down on the prefab sausage and eggs, now I'm happy to have them!

Our suite has two TV's. Jacinto doesn't know which one to turn on first.

The early morning shadows are pretty. I was out of the motel at 6 AM. I was ready earlier, but it wasn't light yet.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I saw two small fields of these yellow, lily looking flowers. I enjoy speculating how small patches of flowers start growing. Where do the seeds come from? Why don't they spread to larger areas? We've seen a variety of flowers this trip.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I haven't seen many windmills yet this trip and hardly any (1-2) falling down cabins.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This convenience store is at the intersection of the Highway to Page. I'm speculating that they have the huge covered area because of extreme weather? The window tinting on their entry door was so dark it was almost black. I presume to keep the sun out.
Heart 0 Comment 0
After miles and miles of downhill, we had one more up, just to remind our legs that they are supposed to be working. This was at ~mile 45.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The scenery about ten miles outside of Tuba City. In a car it looks like a whole bunch of nothing, but by bicycle, there's all kinds of little plants to see and noises to hear.
Heart 0 Comment 0
No wonder my phone and computer are confused. They say different times. Breakfast is on MTN time, that I know!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto's only photo today. Elephant feet.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 73 miles (117 km)
Total: 246 miles (396 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0