Jacob Lake - North Rim Grand Canyon, AZ - I've never been so ill prepared or so determined to tour - CycleBlaze

June 9, 2019

Jacob Lake - North Rim Grand Canyon, AZ

Heart 0 Comment 0

2,538 elevation gain. 2,251 elevation loss.

I slept well last night. The room certainly didn't get hot and stuffy. It was 39 degrees when I woke up enough to look. Today is a tailwind day (shush, I don't want to jinx us) and its chilly this morning. Oren and I are leaving at 8:30. Jacinto pointed out we should leave later as we can't get into our lodging until 4 PM and they seem quite strict around here. But Oren wants to get there in time to check out the views, even though it doesn't get dark until late and the views will still be there. But I understand. I'm an early morning rider also.

I like to listen to music while I'm getting ready. This morning Jacinto hushed me right away, saying I didn't want to wake up the kids next door. Yes, I'm happy we've requested a non connecting room on our return trip.

We met for breakfast at 7:30. Oren and I had gotten our food and finished eating before Jacinto decided what he wanted to eat. This is a regular occurrence, although I've never asked for my food to be served anyway. I'm not quite as ready as Oren, so I ate and left. Breakfast wasn't as good as I expected, based on dinner. I had the breakfast casserole, but it had far too many potatoes and not enough other ingredients.

OK - I have nine minutes to get outside. Later.

We have arrived, eaten lunch and checked in. We are in the motel rooms, which are cheapest at $156. No TV, no wi-fi, enjoy the views and the views are world renown.

Today had too many climbs and descents, gained the same elevation over and over. We had three high points of 8,000 feet. There was a long almost flat area through some meadows. Oren saw three deer and a bobcat in the meadow area. I saw nothing.

That’s not exactly true. I did see the first aspen trees of the trip. But I’m puzzled as to why they are all small and next to the road. There’s no big Aspen groves. We rode through a forest fire area. I will have to google that. I’m texting my entry again. The computer has spent far too much time in the bag this trip.

My legs were tired today. We have several more big climbing days coming up. I don’t think any of them are back to back. I hope not. I’m bushed. We have one more riding day and then a layover. I am going to stay in the room and do nothing that day.

Right now I think we are all showered so we are going to go take a zillion photos of the best views in the USA and you will all wish you were here. More later.

BTW, I had the buffet lunch because it was only a couple dollars more than a meal. For the evening meal we are supposed to have reservations but the only times left are 4:30 or 8:30. Neither of those times work for us. I’m pretty full but I bet the guys will be hungry. Jacinto is going to the general store.

Jacinto sees me off. He left two hours after me, but arrived only ten minutes after I did. Typical.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My first aspen trees of the trip at just over 8,000 feet.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Alas, we did not see any buffalo.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Here she is, in all of her beauty.
Heart 0 Comment 0
It's official, we bicycled to the Grand Canyon!
Heart 0 Comment 0
The outside of the lodge. It was impressive.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 44 miles (71 km)
Total: 399 miles (642 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0