Hildale - Saint George, Utah - I've never been so ill prepared or so determined to tour - CycleBlaze

June 13, 2019

Hildale - Saint George, Utah

Heart 0 Comment 0

1,049 elevation gain. 3,348 elevation loss.

Something tells me we should be hitting the road early rather than waiting around for breakfast. It is 5:45 AM and it's already 70 degrees in Saint George with a forecast of 103 degrees. Just to make it fun, the wind is supposed to get up to 24 mph from the west. Basically a headwind.

I slept fairly well last night, considering the pressures of the day. The beds were so tall I had to spring up a little to get into bed. I wonder how short people manage.

It should be a nice run. Only 43 miles with 1,110 feet of climbing and 3,600 of downhill. If that wind doesn't stop us . . . but we should beat it in. I hope.

Today Bertha actually has some work to do. RWGPS and Kamoot both agree on how we should ride into town. There's five miles of multiple turns that goes right through downtown. It seems easier to me to just get on Riverside Drive which loops south and will take us to our motel on Highway 18. I took the google guy for a look. Riverside Drive is five lanes wide, plenty of room for cars to pass us . . . but we are going to stick with the recommended route.

The wheel John sent for Jacinto should be waiting at the motel. I hope it doesn't chase us across the state like Spiz did back on the Sierra Cascades route. Jacinto still thinks this wheel can make it. It only makes some noise and only wiggles a little . . . we have some serious descending coming up, I'd rather see him go downhill safely!

I'm about to see if wearing tights in the heat is a bad idea. Yesterday was 90 degrees when we got in. We were going downhill, so I think I had enough wind blowing on me that I didn't feel too hot in general. The tights are white and gray, so should reflect the sun. That was the thought anyway. Since I forgot to bring shorts, they are my only option for the day. If they are too hot, I could look for something in Saint George.

I sure hope breakfast is good. Otherwise I would be out the door right now. It's light out.

Breakfast was worth the stay. They had real, fresh cooked eggs with cheese, sausage, and hash browns. Plus the usual toast and cereal.

Oren and I were out the door at 7:15 at 70 degrees. The wind was already blowing slightly. I sure hoped we got to town before it turned into the predicted gale.

Today was a sunshiny, downhill day. It should have been great. Instead it was my least favorite day of the trip because of the heavy traffic and city navigation through Saint George.

We still had interesting mountain formations around us as we left town. We were on 59 leaving town. Traffic was suddenly heavy and fast. It was mostly pick up trucks and cars. I don't know why there was so much traffic. It seemed a little late in the morning for commuters. There were only a few semis and most of those were double belly dumpers. I saw one tour bus heading the opposite direction.

We had a very small shoulder that wasn't usable because of the extra deep rumble strip. Occasionally we tried balancing on that narrow piece of asphalt, but it was tricky. Oren had someone give him the finger. I had one gray truck pass too close. Not the same person. It just wasn't fun at all. Everyone else waited until they could safely pass us. I was happy to be going downhill, at least we would get out of there fast.

There was a huge downhill with marked 5,6, and 7% grades into Hurricane. Oren and I had a string of 8-10 cars behind us when we had a chance to pull out at a runaway truck ramp. The last pickup in line honked at us. We got off as soon as we could . . . . what did he want us to do? There were huge concrete barriers on our side of the highway. I was very happy to arrive to town. Hurricane was much larger than I expected with all of the big name restaurants and stores. Navigation there wasn't a problem. That part was to come.

We took Telegraph Blvd. leaving Hurricane. I thought it wouldn't be a fun road, but at least we were away from the traffic. There were a couple of granny gear climbs, but basically we were on the downhill all day long. Oren claims I am much faster on the downhill. That is partially true. If it's really steep, I ride the brakes because I lack confidence. But if it is a 2-3% cruiser, I will pull away from Oren. I think because I'm heavier. But I can't tell you how many times this trip that I've tensed up because of a big vehicle too close, or a lip on the road surface, etc. This bike doesn't care if I tense up. It just keeps going right down the road. The P-38 would have been all over the place. I guess it's good to have a responsive bike? Personally, I don't like a bike that skitters across the road at the slight of a plastic bag waving in the road. Give me a dependable bike that knows it's own mind. I should be fair and say that there are many happy P-38 owners out there who do not have shimmy issues. I rode mine 6,000 miles before I gave up. I think that was an honest try.

We were getting closer and closer to town and that was just fine with me. I don't care how early we get there, I'm ready. It hadn't heated up much. It was 90 degrees when we got to town. Oren and I agreed we were so early there was no way we could check in, we might as well go to the McDonald's across the street. But I pulled in to the Clarion anyway. I left my bicycle helmet on and went in to ply my apologetic story. Amy was totally nice and said it wasn't even check out time yet. So true, so true. She said perhaps our king room would be done by 12:30, but Oren's double queen won't be ready until 3 PM.

Oren and I went to McDonald's. I was ready for an ice cream. Nope. The ice cream machine is broken. That's the second McDonald's we've been to with a broken ice cream machine. The counter clerk said it was even worse this morning when the coffee machine was broken.

I bought a $1.00 large french fry. Oren had a frappachino. We settled in for the duration. I checked Strava to see where Jacinto was. He was moving right along. We checked in on him occasionally. He didn't take our route exactly, crossing under the interstate at a different spot, but I caught him right as he pulled up into the motel.

He doesn't want anything from McDonald's, but I did point out that there's a movie theatre close to us. We checked it out. It's a half mile away at 905 S. Main Street. It looks likes a discount theatre with slightly old movies. Jacinto wants to see The Intruder.

After we showered and had a snack, Jacinto attacked the wheel issue. Oren had floated the thought that perhaps it was the headset, not the wheel. Oh, boy. We took the wheel off and installed the new wheel (but without the tube/tire). Nope, no more noise. That's good. Now we know for certain that it was the wheel. Oren pointed out that the old hub is making even more noise than it did before. True. He also pointed out that the new wheel has thinner spokes and Jacinto is hard on his equipment, being such a strong rider. Oren thinks Jacinto should carry the old wheel with him just in case the new one starts breaking spokes. It's a 32 spoke wheel. Deore LX with a Sun rim. That's good equipment.

In the meanwhile John's wife will be passing through Saint George. I'm going to ask the nice ladies at the desk if they can hold the old wheel for her until Saturday, she can pick it up on the way through. John has an old Schwinn that could use a wheel. John is the handy type and he's thinking it might just be a bad bearing. He has the luxury of time, tools, and knowledge to repair the wheel.

Jacinto talked us into walking seven minutes to Pancho and Lefty's Mexican Food in 104 degree heat. My food was mediocre. I had chili rellenos that were 90% cheese and 10% chili. I have left overs for later, but I'm not excited.

Now we are back in the room. Jacinto has the air conditioning on high and I have my jacket on in defense. I've worn my jacket almost every day this trip. It was worth bringing. I'm going to clean my chain now. That's the biggest house work I've done in days! There's something to be said for being on tour.

At 9 PM Jacinto said it was still 100 degrees. whew.

Our lodging as we leave in the morning. Notice the high wall. It goes around the entire property.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Gooseberry Lodges, located in Apple Valley, halfway between Hildale and Hurricane. No food or services around.
Heart 0 Comment 0
View to the left.
Heart 0 Comment 0
View to the right.
Heart 0 Comment 0
It was 70 degrees when we started out. Oren had on three layers. How many layers do you suppose the Southern Boy finished the day with? Forecasted high was 103.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is a Datura, Bill says. He also added that the flower has an unpleasant smell and is toxic to eat.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bill, how are you on domestic plants? I'd like a couple of these in my yard if I knew what to ask for. Bill says these are floribundas. That sounds right, after checking google, as I saw some that were huge. Thanks, Bill!
Heart 0 Comment 0
The guys had entertainment installing the wheel John sent. Thank you, John. Your good deeds are paid up for awhile!
Heart 0 Comment 0
All of these years you’re been inflating your tires and you didn’t know the optimal position is belly down?
Heart 0 Comment 0
See the temperature on the sign? Notice that Oren is carrying a jacket?
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 44 miles (71 km)
Total: 551 miles (887 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0